Handbook at The University of West Georgia

Log On

EXCEL Center for Academic Success

Tutoring

FREE one-on-one tutoring in all core courses! Use us often and early.  

First Year Support

Resource center for all first year students and your parents. We're your trouble shooter! 

Peer Mentoring

Paired with incoming students, upperclass students serve as your big brother/sister. Just contact us to sign up. 

Academic Advisement

Holistic academic advisement and personal assistance with course/major selection for undeclared students & certain pre-majors. 

Career Exploration

Explore major/career options compatible with your strengths/interests. Decide on the best major/career for you! 

Leadership Development

Work as a mentor, tutor, or take a course designed to prepare you for excelling in leadership roles. 

Student Advocacy

A one-stop resource to answer your questions and help orient you to campus life; provide advocacy through campus programs and services. 

Multicultural Achievement

Academic support for minority students that includes mentoring and academic study skills sessions.

Academic Success Skills

Study skills seminars and tutoring to help you EXCEL in college. 

UWGeek Squad

Help with computer software in any Microsoft Office application, MyUWG, CourseDen, WebCTVista, BanWeb, Student Webmail, Power Point presentations, Library E-Reserve Readings, and many other computer needs.

 

Remember, EXCEL's services are available to all students, regardless of the first year experience program with which you are involved.

 

EXCEL Center for Academic Success
UCC Room 200
678-839-6280
www.westga.edu/excel

 

Cheryl Rice, Director, crice@westga.edu
Danny Gourley, Associate Director, dgourley@westga.edu
Ashley Lewis, Assistant Director, alewis@westga.edu
Caroline McWhorter, Office Manager, caroline@westga.edu
Arlene Pace, Senior Secretary, apace@westga.edu
Christy Lock, Coordinator, Tutoring/SI, clock@westga.edu
Katie Jordan Mosley, HOPE Scholar & Second Year Programs, katiej@westga.edu
Billy Etheredge, Senior Academic Advisor, wethered@westga.edu
Keri Allen, Academic Advisor, keria@westga.edu
Joy Arnold Ginther, Academic Advisor, jarnold@westga.edu
Emily Hall, Academic Advisor,  ehall@westga.edu
Sherise Smith, Academic Advisor, sherises@westga.edu
Jennifer Stewart, Academic Advisor, stewartj@westga.edu
Dave Haase, Athletic Academic Coordinator, dhaase@westga.edu