Handbook at The University of West Georgia

Log On

UWG Students, Alcohol & Other Drugs

Alcohol Policy: Get Smart, Get Help, or Get Out

 

Get Smart!

- It is illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to purchase, consume or possess alcohol; if caught violating the law or university policy, you will be referred to through the university conduct system. You may also face arrest and prosecution through the court system.

- If it is apparent that you have been drinking (due to behavior, the smell of alcohol, etc.) those observations constitute sufficient grounds for charges of underage consumption or other alcohol-related conduct code violations.

- If you are 21 or older and choose to drink alcohol, it is your responsibility to learn how to make educated, informed decisions regarding alcohol consumption and its potential impact. Useful information is available from links found on the following website:

• http://www.westga.edu/vpsa/index_4689.php

The University of West Georgia will present a variety of alcohol and drug education programs throughout each year.

Below are the minimum sanctions for students found responsible for a first-time alcohol-related conduct code violation:

First Violation

  • Disciplinary Probation for 6 months
  • An alcohol education activity or reflection paper
  • No less than 5 and no more than 10 hours of community service assigned by the student conduct officer
  • Parental Notification- Parents or guardians of students under 21 years of age will be notified by mail when the student is found responsible for an alcohol violation of the Student Conduct Code related to use or possession.
  • Additional sanctions may be assigned at the discretion of the student conduct officer hearing the case.
Get Help!

If someone you know has a problem with alcohol or other drugs, the university can provide free confidential services including assessment, medical and psychological services as well as referrals to outside community resources. If you are found responsible for an alcohol-related conduct code violation, you may be referred for an off campus assessment as a sanction.

You can get help by contacting either of these university departments:

Counseling and Career Development Center, 678-839-6428

Health Services, 678-839-6542

Below are the minimum sanctions for students found responsible for a second-time alcohol-related conduct code violation:

Second Violation

  • Disciplinary Probation for one calendar year
  • Complete an assessment with a licensed counselor.  The student will be responsible for assuming the cost of this assessment.
  • No less than 1 and no more than 3 probationary review meetings with the student conduct officer hearing the case.
  • Parental Notification- - Parents or guardians of students under 21 years of age will be notified by mail when the student is found responsible for an alcohol violation of the Student Conduct Code related to use or possession.
  • Additional sanctions may be assigned at the discretion of the student conduct officer hearing the case.

Get Out!

If you choose to break the law, or if you choose to use alcohol irresponsibly, the University of West Georgia may suspend you. 

Third Violation

  

UWG Students & Other Drugs

 

-Use or possession of any drug or controlled substance is strictly prohibited. Students who choose to violate the drug policies are subject to strict judicial sanctions including, but not limited to mandatory substance abuse assessments, counseling or suspension.

-Georgia law and policies of the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia specify that students convicted of felony offenses involving the manufacture, distribution, sale, possession or use of marijuana, controlled substances or other illegal or dangerous drugs shall forfeit academic credit and be suspended or permanently expelled from the university.  This is regardless of whether it is a first or second offense.

If a student is found responsible for a first-time drug-related violation of the Student Conduct Code and the appropriate official(s) determines that the student will not be separated from the university, below are the minimum sanctions:

Students charged with a drug related offense for the second time risk suspension and/or removal from campus housing.  Students charged with a second drug-related violation will have an opportunity to request a formal hearing as stipulated under the Student Conduct Adjudication Procedures in Appendix A.

The UWG Conduct Code regarding alcohol and other drugs can be found in Appendix A

UWG Medical Amnesty Policy

 

Purpose of the Policy

- UWG encourages the responsible use of alcohol. The Medical Amnesty Policy encourages all students to make responsible decisions in life-threatening situations that result from alcohol or other drug use and to seek medical attention for anyone who is in danger due to intoxication or blood alcohol poisoning.

- Medical Amnesty applies only to alcohol or other drug-related medical emergencies but does not apply to other situations, which also include prohibited conduct such as assault, property damage or distribution of illegal substances.

- In cases where an individual or organization fails to seek emergency medical assistance when risk of harm is clearly indicated, formal judicial action may be taken against the individual(s) or organization,

- The University of West Georgia enforces state law prohibiting the possession and consumption of alcoholic beverages by persons under the age of 21. The Medical Amnesty applies only to the UWG Student Conduct Code and does not in any way prohibit law enforcement personnel from enforcing the laws of the State of Georgia. However, in cases where law enforcement personnel are involved, an act of responsibility may be considered favorably and may mitigate possible consequences.

Students in need of medical assistance

- When an individual student receives emergency medical attention that is directly related to the consumption of alcohol, the Dean of Students or his or her designee has the discretion to refer the student for an alcohol and other drug assessment or substance abuse related counseling in lieu of charging the student with a violation of the Conduct Code.

- Parents of students under 21 years of age be may be notified in accordance with the University’s alcohol and other drugs policy.

Students seeking assistance for others

- UWG students are encouraged to look safeguard their own health and welfare, as well as that of fellow students. Students are sometimes reluctant to request assistance due to possible disciplinary action. To remove this barrier and to encourage students to make responsible decisions regarding medical assistance in alcohol or other drug related emergencies, the UWG Medical Amnesty policy is enacted.

- When a student seeks emergency assistance on behalf of persons who may be experiencing alcohol or drug related emergencies, the Dean of Students or his or her designee has the discretion to allow all students to participate in an educational program, in lieu of pursuing charges for a violation of the UWG Student Conduct Code.

Student Organizations

- When representatives of a student organization seek emergency medical assistance on behalf of persons experiencing alcohol or other drug related emergencies, the Dean of Students or his or her designee has the discretion to require the organization to participate in an appropriate educational program, in lieu of being charged with violations of UWG alcohol policies.