The University of West Georgia Debate program has a 40 year history of national excellence. UWG Debate is part of the Honors College, although you do not need to be an Honors student to debate.

The UWG debate program is recognized as:

  • One of the Top 10 Programs in the Country
  • A Leader in Diversity
  • A Leader in Argument Innovation 




For specific questions related to Debate at UWG, please contact Dr. Michael Hester, Dean of the Honors College and Director of Debate.



The University of West Georgia's Debate program has consistently earned national recognition through the tireless work of our Debate coaches and students, including:

Back-to-back CEDA Nationals Champion in 2000 & 2001 (UWG is only the third school in history to win consecutive
CEDA Nationals)

1999 CEDA Nationals Runner-Up (UWG is the only school in history to make the final round of CEDA Nationals for three consecutive years)

7 First Round At-Large Bids to the National Debate Tournament (awarded to the top 16 teams in the country)

11 teams clearing to NDT elimination rounds in 12 years

NDT Semifinalist in 1979 and 2002, Quarterfinalists in 1998, 2001 and 2008, Octafinalists in 1996, 2000, 2003-2006, 2010 and 2012.



UWG Debate offers substantial financial aid for its members. This includes special out-of-state tuition waivers for non-GA residents. UWG provides direct scholarships to its debaters.

For more information, contact Michael Hester, Director of Debate.



Named by The Princeton Review as one of the Best Southeastern Colleges and one of America's Best Value Colleges, the University of West Georgia provides exceptional academic quality.

UWG Debate alumni have been accepted into the top 5 graduate programs in Economics, Law, Literature, and IR. Not only can you turn a UWG undergraduate degree into acceptance into the best graduate schools in the nation, your experience here can help you obtain national scholarships.

In the last 6 years alone, UWG alumni have received prestigious scholarships from the Gates-Cambridge, Goldwater, Marshall, and Fulbright Foundations.