IEA Home at The University of West Georgia

Log On

Accreditations and Affiliations

The University of West Georgia is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools to award baccalaureate, master, and doctorate degrees. For questions about accreditation of the University of West Georgia contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4501.

The purpose of publishing the Commission’s address and contact number is to enable interested constituents to: (1) learn about the accreditation status of the institution, (2) file a third-party comment at the time of the institution’s decennial review, or (3) file a complaint against the institution for alleged non-compliance with a standard or requirements. However, inquiries about the institution, such as admission requirements, financial aid, educational programs, etc., should be addressed directly to the institution and not to the Commission’s office.

The following is a list of agencies accrediting selected UWG programs:

Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (International)

Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs

Council on Academic Accreditation in Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology (American Speech-Language Hearing Assoc.)

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education

Computing Accreditation Commission of ABET

National Association of Schools of Arts and Design

National Association of Schools of Music

National Association of Schools of Public Affairs and Administration

National Association of Schools of Theatre

National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education

Organizations in which the University holds institutional membership include the American Council on Education, the American Association of State Colleges and Universities, the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education, the Georgia Association of Colleges, the National Association for Business Teacher Education, and the National Collegiate Honors Council.