“An Evening with the Stars” Honors UWG Alumni

Monday, April 1, 2013

The University of West Georgia is pleased to announce that “An Evening with the Stars,” the 37th Annual Alumni Association Awards Gala, will take place on Saturday, April 20. The event will begin with a reception at 6:00 p.m. in the Townsend Center for Performing Arts, followed by the awards ceremony at 7:00 p.m. Those interested in attending may register and purchase tickets for $20 at www.westga.edu/alumni/rsvp.An Evening with the Stars

From filmmakers and business executives to professors and television anchors, the 2013 gala will feature a wide range of accomplished UWG graduates. This year’s 12 award recipients represent all disciplines at UWG and serve as integral parts of their respective communities in business, philanthropy and more. 

The 2013 Service to Humanity Award will go to local humanitarian Ronnie Burchfield. This award is presented to a graduate whose service to humanity has enriched persons or community while bringing credit to the University of West Georgia or the Alumni Association.

The 2013 Achievement Awards recognize graduates who have brought credit to the University of West Georgia or the Alumni Association through career achievement in Business, Nursing, Education, Arts and Humanities, Science and Mathematics, or Social Sciences. This year’s recipients are John Harris for the Richards College of Business, Anne Medlin for the School of Nursing, Dr. Laurie N. Barron for the College of Education, Dr. Keith Hébert for the College of Arts & Humanities, Jimmy Akin for the College of Science and Mathematics, and David Lang for the College of Social Sciences.

Each year the UWG Alumni Association presents the Honorary Alumnus/Alumna Award to a person who has demonstrated outstanding service to the University of West Georgia or the Alumni Association. This year the award goes to Dr. David Hovey.

The J. Owen Moore Faculty and Staff Awards recognize service to the university, students and the community. It is presented in two categories: one to a faculty member, retired or current, and one to a staff member, retired or current. Previously known as the Outstanding Retired Faculty/Staff Award and the Outstanding Professor Award, the award was renamed in memory of J. Owen Moore, a 1940 UWG graduate, retired faculty member, lifetime member of the Alumni Association and loyal supporter of UWG. This year’s recipients are Dr. J. Mark Miller for faculty, and Linda Picklesimer for staff.

The Outstanding Young Alumnus/Alumna Award is presented to a graduate of the part 10 years who has made significant strides in career achievement. The 2013 recipient is Casey C. Nichols from the class of 2006.

The Thelma Harman Turner Loyalty Award, previously known as the Alumni Loyalty Award, recognizes and alumnus or alumna for their enduring loyal service to the University of West Georgia or the Alumni Association. The 2013 award goes to W. Anthony Moye, founder of Moye’s Pharmacy.

The evening’s hostess will be Shaunya Chavis, Emmy award-winning journalist and graduate of the University of West Georgia. She is currently a daily on-air contributor for the WXIA-TV Morning Show and fill-in host for Atlanta & Company on the Atlanta NBC affiliate 11Alive.