Honors College Names Research Award in Honor of Dr. Sethna

Thursday, April 25, 2013

On Wednesday, April 24, the UWG Honors College announced that it would create an award named in honor of retiring president, Dr. Beheruz N. Sethna. The Dr. Beheruz N. Sethna Undergraduate Research Award will recognize UWG students who have shown exemplary success in undergraduate research through multiple publications or presentations during their collegiate career.

“My deepest thanks to Dr. Hester and everyone who made this possible,” said Sethna. “A special thank you to the students because you are intrinsic to the heart and soul of this institution. I will forever have a special place in my heart for West Georgia.”

The Office of Undergraduate Research will select the first recipient of the award at the 2014 Honors Convocation. Nominations for the award will be accepted from all colleges at UWG.

“We wanted to make sure that the inspiration, energy and efforts he put into institutionalized research will be forever recognized at West Georgia,” said Dr. Michael Hester, dean of the UWG Honors College. “Over the last 19 years West Georgia has gone from a college of various ad hoc research to a university that focuses on institutional research, all of which is due to Dr. Sethna’s charge in making sure there is an emphasis on undergraduate research here at the university.”

Hester also presented Sethna with a plaque that will hang inside the Honors College to commemorate his tremendous efforts and support for the Honors College, Advanced Academy and UWG Debate.

“From the moment I became the president of West Georgia, my vision was to create The Honors College,” Sethna recalled. “I am delighted that I was able to work with Dr. Wagner and several others to bring this vision to life.”

Under Sethna’s presidency, the UWG Honors College became the first of its kind in the state of Georgia. The University System Board of Regents recently accepted Sethna’s recommendation to rename the UWG Honors House to honor the late Dr. Donald Wagner, the first dean of UWG’s Honors College and Professor Emeritus at UWG. A formal ceremony will be held in May for the renaming of the Honors House.