UWG’s National Broadcasting Society Recognized at National Convention

Wednesday, May 1, 2013

The National Broadcasting Society named the University of West Georgia chapter of the NBS the “Most Improved Chapter of the Year” at the 71st Annual National Convention in Washington, D.C. UWG Professor of Mass Communications Dr. Bradford Yates was also awarded “Advisor of the Year” at the convention, which draws representatives from colleges and universities nationwide.

“I am deeply humbled by the recognition,” said Yates. “My sincere thanks to Christopher Adamson, the chapter president, for nominating me, and to all of the members of the chapter for their hard work throughout the year. Being recognized for this award is a direct reflection on the members' diligence and dedication to the organization and its mission.”

The NBS Board of Governors also named UWG’s chapter one of six “motivated chapters” out of 56 chapters total, for its commitment to professional development and service.

“The members have truly earned and are quite deserving of these honors,” said Yates. “NBS-UWG worked diligently over the past year to achieve the goals established in its mission statement with a special emphasis on professional development and community service for the 2012-2013 academic year.”

The UWG-NBS chapter was also recently recognized at the 50th Annual National Undergraduate Student Electronic Media Competition after three of four UWG students where chosen as finalists. UWG student, Joshua Winters won the grand prize in the student academic paper category for his media law paper titled, “Video Game Censorship: Protecting Minds or Harming Constitutional Values.”

“The chapter gave back to the campus and local community in numerous ways and set the standard for future members to continue,” added Yates.

This is only the second year since the inception of the UWG-NBS chapter.

In addition to NBS, UWG recently established an active Alpha Epsilon Rho (AERho) chapter of the National Honor Society for Electronic Media. AERho is a student and professional society that encourages and rewards scholarship and accomplishment among students of broadcasting.

For more information on the University of West Georgia chapters of NBS and AERho, contact the College of Social Sciences at 678-839-5170.