VPAA Home at The University of West Georgia

Log On

Honors Program Committee

Purpose: to recommend policy and procedures concerning Honors College admission and retention criteria, Honors College advising and curriculum matters, petitions and appeals, and the annual Honors Convocation; to recommend proposals for recognizing Honors College student achievements through the University Commencement program and other appropriate means; and to recommend means to attract prospective Honors College students, and to provide Honors College students amenities and advantages consistent with national patterns of excellence; and to make recommendations concerning honorary degrees. Membership: three senators; seven faculty, one elected from each of the following academic units:  the five colleges (COSM, COSS, COAH, RCOB, COE), the School of Nursing, and the Library; three administrators: the Dean of the Honors College, the Director of the Advanced Academy, and one appointed by the provost; one student, appointed by the Student Honors Council. (Total: 14)