VPAA Home at The University of West Georgia

Log On

Dean, College of Sciences and Mathematics

The University of West Georgia is launching a national search for a permanent Dean for the College of Science and Mathematics (COSM).  It is anticipated that the new dean will assume office on July 1, 2013, or as soon thereafter as possible.  COSM is one of three new colleges formed when the former College of Arts and Sciences was reorganized in 2010. 

The College of Science and Mathematics at UWG is composed of the departments of biology, chemistry, computer science, geosciences, mathematics, and physics.  They offer 14 undergraduate majors (environmental studies, environmental science, computer science, biology [secondary education], physics [secondary education], biology, mathematics, geology, earth science [secondary education], physics, geography, and chemistry) and four master’s degree programs (applied computer science, biology, and mathematics).

Review of applications will begin on October 26, 2012 , and will continue until the position is filled.  Please send applications or nominations to:  Dr. Jane McCandless, Chair, COSM Dean Search Committee, The University of West Georgia, 1601 Maple Street, Carrollton, GA  30118.  Electronic applications are encouraged and should be sent to:  jmccandl@westga.edu.