The Campus Chronicle
flame graphic

The Campus Chronicle, an online newspaper
for University of West Georgia faculty and staff, is the official
source for UWG news and information for all members of the campus community.

Roden Named Georgia Women's College Coach of the Year

The brilliant season posted by the West Georgia Wolves women’s basketball team has resulted in a major award for the team’s head coach.

Georgia Coach of the Year: Craig Roden

Georgia Coach of the Year: Craig Roden

Craig Roden was named Whack Hyder State of Georgia Women’s College Coach of the Year by the Atlanta Tipoff Club. Roden, and other award winners, will be honored at the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Naismith Awards banquet presented by Delta Air Lines and Piedmont Heart Institute on March 25 at the Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre.

Roden’s 12th season at West Georgia was among the finest in the program’s history. UWG posted a 25-5 record, claimed the Gulf South Conference East Division title, and claimed its first NCAA Division II Tournament berth since 1994.

The Wolves last week won their first round NCAA match-up over Nova Southeastern, before falling to top-ranked and unbeaten Delta State in the South Region semifinals.

“This is very much a team award,” said Roden of the honor. “What our team accomplished this season was outstanding, and I’m proud for all the positive recognition for their efforts.”

The honor from the Atlanta Tipoff Club is Roden’s second Coach of the Year prize for 2007-08. Earlier this month he was named GSC East Coach of the year for the second time in three years.

Roden will join an elite group at next week’s awards ceremony. Other winners include Jeff Price of Georgia Southern as Whack Hyder Georgia Men’s College Coach of the Year; Janie Mitchell of Georgia Tech as Georgia Women’s College Player of the Year, and Georgia Southern’s Louis Graham as Georgia Men’s Player of the Year.

The Atlanta Tipoff Club, an Atlanta Sports Council property, is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club, founded during the 1956-57 season, has presented the Naismith Trophy since UCLA’s Lew Alcindor first won the award in 1969. The Naismith Awards program has become an emblem of excellence for the game, recognizing the Men’s and Women’s College Player of the Year, Men’s and Women’s Coach of the Year, as well as awards for outstanding achievement in high school basketball, officiating, and overall contribution to the game.

For more athletic news, visit









newsLink peopleLink calendarLink