in this issue


 News & Events

 Awards Day Recap


 Undergrad Conference
 Big Night for Fowler

 Toto Pulls Curtain on . . .


 Eclectic Awarded
 Kickball Challenge

 Faculty & Staff News

 New Professor Profiles


 "Alien Life" Wins Prize


 A&S Names Outstanding

 Alumni News

 Job Spotlight
 Lewis Gets Fellowship

 Course Descriptions


Awards Day: Recognizing Excellence

Our annual awards program was held March 29, 2006 in the TLC atrium. Drs. Josh Masters and Margaret Mitchell served as masters of ceremony. Congratulations to all of this year's award recipients. (Photos by Steven Broome.)

The David Bottoms Distinguished Alumnus Award was awarded to Sgt. Thomas J. Strickland posthumously. His mother, Patricia Strickland (center), accepted the award on her son's behalf. Dr. Debra MacComb (left) presented the award and Alum Gabe Pline (right) read a poem written by Strickland. Strickland was killed in 2005 while serving in Iraq.


Sigma Tau Delta Inductees

Melanie Beal, Katie Lane Boone, Tamara Daniel, Elizabeth Padgett Jones, Lori A. Kearns, Lauren Lovvorn, Nicholas McRae, Giselle Hykes-Neal, Lawrence S. Ondovchik, Jennifer Ragan, Emmanuel Louis Reddish, Cynthia Snider, Amber Joy Taylor, Patrick Whittier, Will Winchester

Recognition of Presentations and Publications

Christopher Alexander, Bric Barker, Jesse Bishop, Deb Brons, David Ellis, Michelle Fellows, Phillip Fowler, Margaret Griffin, Christina Hogan, Amelia Lewis, Heather Lyda, Nicholas McRae, Phil Purser, Ted Smith, Diana Sullivan, Margaret Sullivan, Kristina Swim, Timothy Wright


The Robert Reynolds Excellence in Teaching English Award was presented to Dr. Jane Hill (left) by Margaret Griffin, Amelia Lewis, and Lindsay Woodrum, students who nominated Dr. Hill for the award. The Martha Saunders Excellence in Teaching First-Year Writing Award went to Dr. Angela Insenga (right). Photo by Susan Holland.

Gordon Watson Award
Amelia Lewis

Ben W. Griffith Fiction Prize
Elizabeth Hetzel

Kay Magenheimer
Poetry Prize;
Most Outstanding
English Minor

Chelsea Austin

Most Outstanding English Education Major
Jonette Larrew

Most Promising New English Major
Kendra Parker

Most Outstanding Graduate Student
Josh Grant

Insight Awards
Seniors: Patrick Whittier (pictured)
and Heather Lyda
Junior: James Phillips

James Mathews Prize for Graduate Research
Margaret Sullivan

Willie Maude Thompson English Scholarships
Rachel Dunn, Lauren Lovvorn, Amanda Stevens

George W. Walker English Scholarships
Michael Brown, Marquita Elder, Will Winchester

Brie Barker Service Award
Chris Alexander, Margaret Griffin, Amelia Lewis

Mary Anne (Sugar) Wilson Goreau DeVillier Memorial Scholarships
Donyetta Grimes, Holly Holder

Best Contributions to a Senior Seminar
Lisa Crafton (Fall 2005): Lindsay Jones
Hendricks (Spring 2005): Amy Lavender
Leacock (Fall 2005): Joshua Messer
Snyder (Spring 2005): Matthew Sunrich

Best Nominating Letter for the Robert Reynolds Excellence in Teaching English Award
Heather Lyda