in this issue


News & Events

Awards Day Recap

Eclectic Now Accepting Submissions

Poetry Gala Review

Univ. Writing Center Adds Staff, Begins Assessment

Snyder Retirement Party

2007 Undergrad Conference Presenters

Voice Your Concerns

Toto Pulls Curtain on David Newton

Thinking of Pursuing a Graduate Degree?

People News

Studying Abroad: Nick McRae Czechs In

Kimily Willingham Leaves Legacy Behind

Student Presents Paper to Board of Regents

Lisa Crafton Named Outstanding Teacher

Masters Takes Helm of Grad Program

New Professor in English Education

In Every Issue

Job Spotlight on Christina Hogan

New Faculty and Staff


Course Descriptions

Spring 2008



Awards Day: Recognizing Excellence

Our annual awards program was held March 28, 2007 in the Campus Center. Drs. Josh Masters and Margaret Mitchell served as MCs. Congratulations to all of this year's award recipients. (Photos by Steven Broome.)

The Martha Saunders Excellence in Teaching First-Year Writing Award was presented to Prof. John Sturgis.


The Robert Reynolds Excellence in Teaching English Award was presented to Dr. Barbara Brickman (left) by Larry Peel, who nominated Dr. Brickman for the award. Peel received the award for Best Nominating Letter.


Kimily Willingham received the Brie Barker Lifetime Service Award which was renamed the Kimily Willingham Service Award in her honor.

David Bottoms Distinguished Alumnus Award
Charles Wilson

James Mathews Prize for Graduate Research
Jessica Wise

Kay Magenheimer
Poetry Prize; Brie Barker Service Award; George W. Walker English Scholarship
Nick McRae

Ben W. Griffith Fiction Prize; Most Promising New English Major; George W. Walker English Scholarship
John Underwood

Most Outstanding
English Minor
Kayla Hocutt

Most Outstanding English Education Major
Rachel Dunn

Most Outstanding Graduate Student
Margaret Sullivan



Gordon Watson Award Recipients

Lauren Lovvorn,
Denise Slavinski

Insight Awards
Seniors: Cassandra Lewis, James Phillips, Kendall Pope; Juniors: Derek Null (not pictured), Shane Roberts (not pictured)

Willie Maude Thompson English Scholarships
Marquita Elder, Kendra Parker, Kate Peterson

Mary Anne (Sugar) Wilson Goreau DeVillier Memorial Scholarships
Paris Desnoes, David Ellis (not pictured), Eve Fletcher

The Robert L. Snyder Award for Contributions to the Senior Seminar
Heather Lyda, Phillip Fowler, Jennifer Ragan, William Winchester (not pictured)

Sigma Tau Delta Inductees
Paris Desnoes, Rachel Dunn, Holly Holder, Jonette Larrew, Cassandra Lewis;
and not pictured: Gail Cuellar, Julia Frazier, Heather Lyda, Emily Rosenkrans, Dianne West