.in this issue

1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5

Yusef Komunyakaa Visits UWG

Call for Recycling Volunteers

Awards Day Award Recipients

Fulbright Grant Sends Recent UWG Grad to Slovakia

UWG Students Take Part in Prestigious Writing Workshop


Course Descriptions

Spring 2010

Awards Day: Recognizing Excellence

Our annual awards program was held April 1, 2009 in the Campus Center Ballroom. Drs. Josh Masters and Margaret Mitchell served as MCs. Congratulations to all of this year's award recipients.

Gordon Watson Award

Kay Magenheimer
Poetry Prize

Dr. James W. Mathews Distinguished Endowed English Scholarship for Graduate Studies

Most Outstanding
Graduate Student

Nick McRae

Trista Edwards

Rod McRae

Amelia Lewis

Most Outstanding
English Minors

Most Outstanding
English Education Majors

Most Promising New English Majors

John Underwood
Anna Potter
(not pictured)

Katie McShurley,
Ashley Dycus

Joshua Black, Kali Ratcliff

Insight Awards, Juniors

Robert L. Snyder Award for Best Contributions to the Senior Seminar

George W. Walker
English Scholarship

Matthew Liner, Jimmy Worthy,
Sarah Hendricks (not pictured)

Elisabeth Lovelace, Trista
Edwards, Priscilla Gillham,
William Chesser (not pictured)

Rich Collins

James Mathews Prize
for Best Graduate
Student Essay

Mary Anne (Sugar) Wilson Goreau
DeVillier Memorial Scholarshp

Willie Maude Thompson
English Scholarship

James Phillips

Elijah Yarbrough, Jeffrey Peterson

Katy Gunn

Marion L. Fisher Award

Kimily Willingham
Lifetime Service Award

Kimily Willingham
Service Award
David Bottoms Distinguished
Alumnus Award

Kellyn Ivey Grubb

Dr. Jane Hill

John Underwood

Lisa Churchwell

Martha Saunders Excellence in Teaching First-Year Writing Award
Robert Reynolds Excellence in Teaching English Award

Crystal Shelnutt

Dr. Emily Hipchen

Ben W. Griffith
Fiction Prize

Recognition of Presentations and Publications
Sigma Tau Delta Inductees

Ben Brown

Katy Gunn, Alix Carnes, Nick McRae, Mary Kay McBrayer, Rich Collins, Savannah Smith

Not pictured: Deborah Brons, Ashley Dycus,
Inger Harber, Thomas Hardegree, Heather McCondichie, Gazelle Moharari,
April Oglesbee, Jessica Wise

Alix Carnes, Colleen Donnelly, Katy Gunn, David Langley, Randie Mayo, Kendall Pope, Jennifer Rivers, Duane Theobald, Jimmy Worthy
Creative Nonfiction Prize
Kate Peterson
Insight Awards, Seniors
Jane Drammeh
William Manion
Initia Van Tonder

All photos by Steven Broome except for the following stock photos: Jane Hill, Emily Hipchen