.in this issue

1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5

Awards Day Award Recipients

Undergrad Conference Participants

Alumni Update: Matt Sherling


Course Descriptions

Spring 2011


Dr. Meg Pearson was chosen for a 2010 COAS Excellence in Scholarship Award.

Dr. Rebecca Harrison presented a paper entitled “Fiction, Autobiography, & Captivity: Evelyn Scott’s Escapade[s] with Genre”  at the American Literature Association Symposium in Savannah, GA, and recently became the new faculty co-sponsor of Sigma Tau Delta (English Honors Society).

Dr. Chad Davidson had a poem appear in Michigan Quarterly Review.

Drs. Greg Fraser, Randy Hendricks, and Chad Davidson had a panel accepted at the annual conference of the Association of Writers and Writing Programs (AWP).

Prof. Rod McRae presented a paper entitled, “Dead Reckoning: The Road as Cormac McCarthy’s Revision of the Apocalyptic” at the 16th Annual Southern Writers/Southern Writing Conference (a University of Mississippi Graduate Student event held in conjunction with the university's Annual Faulkner and Yoknapatawpha Conference at Ole Miss in Oxford, MS) where he also received the Kullman Prize for the most outstanding presentation at the conference.

Dr. Fran Chalfant had an article published on the afternoon field meeting and evening lecture on Hardy and Larkin at the Thomas Hardy Society Birthday Weekend (June 4-6), accompanied by her own photographs, in Thomas Hardy Journal, 6:2. She also wrote a review of UWG's production of Rent that appeared in a September edition of Times-Georgian.

Promotions and Tenures:

Dr. Josh Masters—tenured
Dr. Emily Hipchen—tenured
Dr. Barbara Brickman—tenured and promoted to Associate Professor
Prof. Mitzi McFarland—promoted to Senior Lecturer
Prof. Brandy Robinson—promoted to Senior Lecturer
Prof. Amanda Campbell—promoted to Lecturer
Dr. Katie Chaple—promoted to Lecturer
Dr. Melanie Jordan—promoted to Lecturer
Prof. Brooke Parks—promoted to Lecturer
Prof. Crystal Shelnutt—promoted to Lecturer
Prof. John Sturgis—promoted to Lecturer

Congratulations to these students and faculty members on their recent accomplishments:


Matt Sherling started the MFA program at San Francisco State.

Nick McRae started the MFA program at The Ohio State University (on a full stipend).

Trista Edwards participated in the Sarah Lawrence Writing Seminar this summer (on full scholarship).

Our Creative Writing Guild was named the Best New Student Organization at the Campus Activities Awards Program on April 20, and Dr. Emily Hipchen was named the Best Faculty Advisor of the year for her work with that group.


Dr. Randy Hendricks was named Interim Dean of the newly-formed College of Arts and Humanities. Dr. Hendricks's appointment will begin in January 2011.

Since retiring as Professor Emeritus of English in 2007, Dr. Robert Snyder has published four refereed articles in Papers on Language & Literature, South Atlantic Review, CLUES: A Journal of Detection, and Texas Studies in Literature and Language. Three of these articles are related to his book manuscript titled Covert Operations: British Espionage Fiction, which two university presses have invited for juried consideration in 2010. For the past two years Dr. Snyder has also been serving as a consultant copyeditor for Edit911.com, Inc.

Dr. Greg Fraser was named Georgia Author of the Year in Poetry by the Georgia Writers’ Association for Answering the Ruins. Fraser also had three poems accepted at The Gettysburg Review.

Prof. Brandy James coordinated and participated in the 3rd Annual McGraw-Hill Freshman Composition Regional Workshop.