Departmental Scholarship Criteria

Department of Nursing

University of West Georgia


  1. Ayers/Hudson Nursing Scholarships. In memory of Dennis H. Ayers and Dana Hudson. Multiple scholarships are awarded on the basis of need. May be requested as “emergency” funds throughout the academic year as need arises. Usually awarded as $250, $500, or $1,000 dollar awards.


  1. The Donna Ayers Memorial Nursing Scholarship. One or two awards of $250 to $500 dollars to a Licensed Practical Nurse who is furthering their education and seeking a registered nursing degree at the University of West Georgia.


  1. Dr Jeanette C. Bernhardt Merit Scholarship. One award annually to a full time nursing student who exhibits academic excellence and has the personal qualities necessary to effectively minister to the sick. The only scholarship that is not need-driven.


  1. Pansy Tisinger Brown Memorial Nursing Scholarship. A $500.00 scholarship will be awarded each year to a student in the Nursing Program who is a resident of Carroll County, and priority will be given to a student who comes from a single parent household.


  1. DeVillier Family Trust. In appreciation for the military nurses serving in World War II. One or two awards of $500 to $1,000 dollars annually. Preference will be given to those students interested in a military career. General nursing students will be considered in the absence of these candidates.


  1. Betty Irvine Griffith Memorial Scholarship. One award of $800 dollars annually to a student who is a single parent with a GPA of at least 3.0. Students must have been accepted into the nursing program.


  1. Dr. Claudette Hayes Scholarship. One or two awards of $1,000 dollars annually to a nursing student.


  1. Jean Aycock McCauley Scholarship. Several awards annually of $1,000 dollars each to mature females seeking a Bachelor of Science Degree in Nursing.


  1. Ernest M. Sewell Scholarship. One award of $500 dollars annually to a student majoring in nursing. The student must have been accepted into the nursing program.


  1. Arta Mae Whatley Scholarship. One need-based award of $450 dollars annually to a student who has declared a nursing major and who resides in Carroll, Polk, Troup, Heard, Haralson, or Floyd Counties. If no student applicants from these counties are found, eligible students from elsewhere in the State of Georgia will be considered.


  1. Lettie Pate Whitehead Foundation Scholarship. The grant shall be used exclusively for the purpose of providing scholarship funds for the education of financially deserving Christian women who are residents of one of the following states: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia.


Other Scholarships Available:

Bowden Area Healthcare Scholarship. One award for nursing of $1500 dollars. This is a merit award for healthcare providers who reside in and plan to practice in the Bowden area. Administered by the Biology Department, applications are available in the Biology Department by February 1 each year. The application deadline is March 1.


Remember to fill out the FAFSA application with Financial Aid for all scholarships.  Contact the financial aid office at 678-839-6421 for campus scholarships available, the service cancelable loan program, and other loans.


Rev. 7/05