Student Awards in Philosophy and Religion

The Gordon Watson Awards - These awards are presented annually to the outstanding students from academic disciplines in the Humanities. Recipients must have a declared major in the field of the award, superior academic achievement, demonstrated leadership ability, potential for development in the respective academic discipline and active involvement in extracurricular activities. The award was established in memory of the late Bailey Gordon Watson, first head of the English Department at West Georgia.

2014: Annthony Duffey
2013: Joshua Moore
2012: Savannah Bergevine
2011: Kevin King
2010: Alice Barker
2009: Philip Brewer
2008: Charles Bauch
2007: David Ellis
2006: Michelle Fellows
2005: Michelle Fellows
2004: Nicole Walker
2003: Melissa Reeves
2002: Melissa Reeves
2001: Brooks Edwards
2000: Carla Willis

The Burdett and Shirley Wantland Philosophy Scholarship - This scholarship was established by the members of Liberty Christian Church in honor of Burdett and Shirley Wantland's dedicated leadership of the church and their service to the University of West Georgia. It is awarded to a junior or senior philosophy major with religion emphasis who has a 3.0 minimum cumulative GPA.

2014: Matthew Soulsby
2013: Joshua Hoffman
2011: Jacob Morton
2010: Charles Garcia
2008: Christopher Pollard
2007: Christopher Pollard
2006: Matt Lewis
2004: Ginger Evans
2003: Andrew Giles
2002: Sonya Martinear & Brooks Edwards
2001: John Huffman
2000: Andrew Huggins

The Best New Philosophy Major Award - This award recognizes a student who has declared a philosophy major within this academic year. It is based on performance in philosophy classes, contribution to the major, and promise as a successful philosophy student.

2014: Jessica Holloman
2013: Josue Piniero
2012: Micah Dickie & Alex Richardson
2011: Savannah Bergevine & Ryan Washington
2010: Kevin King
2009: Alice Barker & Geoff Lundeen
2008: Anna Potter
2007: Charles Bauch
2006: David Ellis
2005: Jacob Earl
2004: Michelle Fellows
2003: Laurence Skirvin
2002: Richard Cabe
2001: Melissa Reeves
2000: Jacob Kines

The West Georgia Philosophical Society Essay Prize - This prize is for an essay of 5-7 typed, double-spaced pages on any philosophical topic submitted by any student. The essay must be submitted to the Philosophical Society Executive Committee through the Philosophy Program office. One winner will be selected to receive a $25 prize. A runner-up (no cash prize) may also be selected.

2013: Alex Richardson
2012: Alex Richardson
2011: Kevin King
2009: Geoff Lundeen
2008: Anna Potter
2007: Philip Brewer
2005: Kristina Swim
2004: Richard Cabe & Kristina Swim
2002: Melissa Reeves
2001: Erin Bingham & Carla Willis
2000: James Burgess & Lee Crase

Philosophy Program Service Award - This award is given to students who have served the Philosophy Program and its faculty in important ways, through participation and organization of program meetings and events, participation in student organizations, representing the Program at stundent philosophy conferences, and other activities.

2008: Timothy Wright
2005: Brian Larkin

Philosophy Program Homepage | English & Philosophy Dept. Homepage | UWG Homepage

This page last updated 7/2/2014.