Congratulations to Dr. Nicholas Sterling in the Physics Department for recently being awarded the title "Honors College Professor of the Year".  Dr. Sterling has done an exceptional job filling in with the Honors Astronomy Class during Dr. Powell's absence.  Thank you for your hard work and dedication to this program. 


Congratulations to Dr. Christopher Jett from the Mathematics Department who was awarded a prestigious NSF Career Grant.  According to Denise Overfield, Interim-Associate Vice President of Academic Affairs, the National Science Foundation has funded Dr. Jett  for his CAREER: Broadening Participation in STEM: A Qualitative Analysis of African American Male STEM Majors’ Mathematics Experiences and Career Decisions.  Dr. Jett has been funded $147,045 for year 1 and this grant has the potential funding of $405,063 over 4 years. Below is his project overview:

"The research objective of this CAREER proposal is to analyze the mathematics experiences and career decisions of 40 African American male Science, Technology , Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) majors from four 4-year colleges and universities in Atlanta, GA (i.e., Clark Atlanta University, Georgia Institute of Technology, Georgia State University, and Morehouse College) using surveys, interviews, and artifacts.  African American male students' stories of mathematics success are critically needed in the research literature, and it is important to gain insights from African American male STEM majors to improve efforts to recruit, retain, and graduate these students (Harper, 2005).  In line with that, African American male students' STEM career decisions can provide insights concerning persistence and career trajectories in STEM fields for these students.  Furthermore, an African American Male Mathematics Network (AAMMN) will be established to influence and capitalize on students' mathematical strengths, and this network will serve as a national model for other stakeholders with similar research and education goals.  All in all, this CAREER proposal submitted to the National Science Foundation's (NSF) Education and Human Resources (EHR) Core Research program within the Division of Research on Learning, addresses the core area of Broadening Participation in STEM.

COSM's very own Interim Dean, Dr. Scott Gordon and Interim Associate Dean, Dr. Gregory Payne were among the winners of the most recent Best of the West Awards.  Dr. Gordon in the area of Values and Dr. Payne for Strategic Imperative.  Please join us in congratulating them for the recognition of the hard work they are doing in the COSM Dean's Office.

Risk Management recently recognized Shea Rose with the Community Award for being an advocate of an environmentally-sustainable campus.  She not only teaches Environmental Science but goes even farther.  As the faculty advisor of the Green Elite student organization, she advocates for their safety and encourages their involvement in protecting our environment.  She is working with the UWG Community Garden on sustainability as well.  Her engagement and effort at protecting our environment is appreciated.

Risk Management awarded the Above and Beyond Award to the following faculty:  John Congleton and Randa Harris in Geosciences, Dusty Otwell in Chemistry, Bob Powell in Physics and Christopher Tabit in Biology.

This award recognized those who have gone, as the name implies, above and beyond their normal duties in providing a safe or secure campus over the past year by advocating for safety or assisting in resolving an issue or concern.


The Chemistry Department was recognized at the recent Risk Management Awards ceremony.  Dusty Otwell was recognized as one of the many "Above and Beyond" employees as well as the "Safety Leader of the Year" for 2015.  Dusty's recognition was due to the outstanding job she has done organizing the labs and stock room and the professionalism she has displayed since taking on the role of Lab Coordinator and also for helping set up the Newnan lab.  Her efforts to organize, train and keep track of the lab assistants and workshop leaders should not go unmentioned as well.

Dr. Sharmistha Dutt was recognized with the 2015 Horizon Award for her role as the new department head and her relentless pursuit of solving safety and environmental issues in her department and on campus.  Dr. Dutt has taken her new leadership role very seriously and should be appreciated for her efforts as her award points out.


Congratulations to Benjamin Jenkins' recognition as one of this years' UWG 30 Under 30 recipients.  The 30 Under 30 is an annual recognition program sponsored by the UWG Alumni Association recognizing 30 alumni that are under the age of 30 and have made a significant impact in their career industry and represent what UWG stands for.


Congratulations to Christopher Jett for winning UWG's campus competition for the 2016 Regents' Teaching Excellence Awards.  This is one of the highest honors for faculty at Georgia's public colleges and universities.  Christopher will now go on to the compete for the University System of Georgia award.