Association of Retired Faculty and Staff Online Meeting of the Coordinating Council May 15, 2020 3:00 p.m.

Present: Kathryn Grams (presiding), Bruce Lyon, Meg Cooper, Francie Taylor, Jimmy Drew, Mitch Clifton, Denice Perdue (staff). Past member Anne Richards also attended.

Absent: Frank Pritchett, Bob Powell, Sally Roberts, Bonnie Bar, Tom Mackel, Karen Smith.

Guests: Dr. Meredith Brunen, Vice President for Advancement, and Allyson Bretch, Interim Executive Director of Alumni Relations and Director of Annual Giving.

Call to Order: Kathryn introduced Dr. Brunen and invited her to share her personal and professional background with the group. Dr. Brunen expects to be physically onboard by the end of May, and in the meantime has been involved online in a number of UWG meetings and conferences.

Minutes: The minutes of the meeting of January 10, 2020 were approved with a motion by Meg Cooper and a second by Jimmy Drew. The spelling of Terri Murphy's first name will be corrected.

President's Report: Kathryn Grams

- The 2018-19 ARFS Annual Report has been submitted.
- The spring USG Retiree Council meeting was cancelled due to the coronavirus outbreak and the GA HERO meeting was postponed until the fall.
- Dale Driver in ITS at UWG has not yet scheduled the meeting he requested with CC leadership
 to discuss formalizing how UWG manages communications with retired faculty and staff.
 Francie Taylor reported that she had spoken with an ITS retiree who stated that future retirees
 may not be allowed to retain their UWG e-mail addresses. Kathryn will follow up with Dale.

2020 Annual Reunion/Meeting

- COVID-19 and Planning: Denice Perdue
 - The University is in the process of determining when and under what conditions it will be safe to schedule meetings on campus. It does not seem feasible at this time to have the annual reunion in August, particularly considering the age of the attendees. The annual meeting and the approval of new officers and CC members are scheduled each year in conjunction with the reunion. It was agreed by consensus that Martha Ann Saunders will be asked to apply her expertise to a revision of the bylaws which will allow more flexibility in scheduling these activities. In the meantime, the annual meeting on August 22 will be a virtual event this year in which the new officers and CC members for the coming year will be elected. New retirees will be recognized at this time with photos and brief background comments. The in-person recognition of the 2019-20 retirees will be delayed until conditions are sufficiently safe, possibly in the spring.
- Update on 2019-20 Retirees and Tribute Book: Meg Cooper and Francie Taylor
 Assistance from CC members in contacting the new retirees will be appreciated. Along with
 preparation of the tribute book for the in-person recognition ceremony later, more limited

information and cell phone photos will be incorporated into a PowerPoint presentation for the virtual meeting on August 22.

Nominating Committee: Mitch Clifton

Meg Cooper and Francie Taylor have agreed to accept nominations for President and Secretary, respectively. Mitch still needs candidates for Vice President, Treasurer and six members of the CC.

Legacy Scholarship: Meg Cooper and Denice Perdue

No information is available yet about the selection of the scholarship recipient for next year.

Rejuvenator: Denice Perdue

A summer issue is planned and suggestions for content were solicited by Denice.

Next Meeting: The ARFS CC will meet online with President Kelly and Vice President Brunen on June 12 at 10:30 a.m. for 45 minutes. Council members will have an opportunity to ask questions of the new leadership team. Following the session with Drs. Kelly and Brunen, the Council will have a brief business meeting.

Bruce Lyon Secretary