GENERAL FACULTY MEETING Spring Semester, 2006

Tuesday, May 2, 2006 Townsend Center 3:00 p.m. Reception for Retirees 2:30 p.m.

- I. Call to Order and Welcome President Beheruz N. Sethna
- II. Approval of Minutes
- III. Recognition of Retirees
- IV. Faculty and Staff Service Awards Dr. Tara Singer, Vice President, University Advancement
- V. Foundation Presentation
- VI. Election of Officers of General Faculty, Executive Secretary and Parliamentarian
- VII. Faculty Awards—Big Night Mentors, and Faculty Recognition Awards
- VIII. Vice President's Remarks Dr. Thomas J. Hynes, Jr.
- IX. Closing Remarks President Beheruz N. Sethna
- X. Adjournment

Elections: 1. Post Tenure Review Appeals Committee

- 2. Learning Resources Committee Change
- 3. Technology Committee Change

Ballot Boxes will be open before and after the Faculty Meeting

Ballot 1:



May 2, 2006

Members of the Post Tenure Review Appeals Committee

Members must be tenured faculty. Vote for a total of 14 positions.

College of Arts and Sciences

Vote for 6 faculty from Arts and Science

- Sharmistha Basu-Dutt ڤ
- Stan Caress ڤ
- Cecilia Lee ث
- Elaine MacKinnon ڤ
- Swamy Mruthinti ڤ
- Larry Schor ڤ
- ڤ

Richards College of Business

Vote for 3 faculty from the Richards College of Business

- Bruce Bird ڤ
- Leland Gustafson ڤ
- Doug Turner ف
- ڤ

College of Education

Vote for 4 faculty from the College of Education

- Martha Larkin ڤ
- Barbara McKenzie ڤ
- Linda Painter ف
- Janet Strickland ڤ
- ڤ

Ingram Library

Vote for 1 from the Ingram Library

- ڤ Susan Smith
- ڤ

Ballot : 2

General Faculty Meeting Spring 2006

Change in Committee Purpose

(Policies and Procedures, Section 2,F4)

The Learning Resources Committee voted at its meeting on September 22, 2005 to delete "computer center" and "the FM radio station (a subcommittee must be constituted according to FCC regulations)" from the purpose statement describing the Learning Resources committee as posted by the University.

Approved December 9, 2005, Faculty Senate Meeting as submitted

I approve the motion

□ Yes

🗆 No

Ballot 3:

General Faculty Spring 2006

Action Item: April 14, 2006

The TPC recommends to the Faculty Senate that the purpose and membership of the Technology Planning Committee be amended as follows:

Purpose: To assess and recommend strategic policy that contributes to the fulfillment of UWG's technology vision. That vision is "... to integrate information technology into West Georgia's academic and administrative mission to ensure that students, faculty, staff, and the community are well prepared for life in a knowledge-based and technologically dynamic society."

The Technology Planning Committee will produce a Yearly Evaluation of Campus IT as a summation of the state of information technology at UWG over the previous academic year. This report, to be completed by the end of the fall semester, will include: An assessment of annual reports from IT units, evaluations from the Technology Coordination Council, user surveys, and other documents that provide evidence that the university is actively participating in the strategies articulated in the UWG IT Strategic Plan.

An evaluation of existing campus policies, procedures, standards, and processes related to the allocation and use of technology to ensure that academic and administrative needs are adequately addressed.

A summary of the committee's findings and any recommendations for increased activity to fulfill participation in the IT Strategic Plan and/or recommendations for changes, additions or other improvements to the UWG IT Strategic Plan and accompanying process.

The Technology Planning Committee will meet jointly once each semester with the Technology Coordination Council to promote communication and cooperation. Membership, to be specified in UWG's Policies and Procedures:

The committee members will be 2 Senators (1 Arts and Sciences, 1 Business or Education); 6 elected faculty members (3 Arts and Sciences, 1 Business, 1 Education, 1 Library); 4 senior-level administrators (1 each from the divisions of Academic Affairs, Business and Finance, Student Services, and University Advancement); the University Technology Officer; and 3 students (appointed by the SGA). The total membership is 16, with members representing the Senate and faculty serving for staggered three-year terms.

I approve the motion

- □ Yes
- 🗆 No