# University of West Georgia General Faculty Townsend Center for the Performing Arts Thursday, May 1, 2008 Approved August 13, 2008

Date: May 16, 2008

- **I.** Call to Order and Opening Remarks to the Faculty: The meeting was convened in the Townsend Center for the Performing Arts. President (Dr.) Beheruz Sethna called the meeting to order at 9:05 a.m.
  - President Sethna thanked those in attendance "for all the work you do." He noted that UWG had the highest enrollment ever for the fall and the spring semesters and that UWG had received national recognition of both faculty and student work. "You get the credit and my and the institution's thanks."
  - Dr. Sethna after "having listened to faculty" input, then spoke to budget items for fall 2008. There will be an addition of 20 new faculty toward the Core curriculum and an additional 8 in the non-Core curriculum. Other budget items include faculty promotion and salary compression, increasing staff support, monies targeted toward initiatives for faculty research and for the Ombuds initiative. There will be a small increase put into travel budgets, library collection increases, and for leadership training.

President Sethna concluded his remarks addressing faculty accomplishments.

- **II.** *Approval of Minutes:* A motion was made to approve the Minutes of the General Faculty Meeting held August 13, 2007: Approved.
- III. Recognition of Retirees: Dr. Beheruz Sethna "We owe these folks a lot."

David Hovey – 24 years ("Dean Emeritus" Richard College of Business)

Marc La Fountain – 31 years (Criminology/Sociology)

Mary O'Neill – 19 years (Nursing)

Patricia Reinhard – 10 years (English – Writing programs)

Jan Ruskell – 38 years (Ingram Library)

John vonEschenbach – 12 years (Curriculum and Instruction)

### IV. Faculty and Staff Service Awards – Dr. Andrew Leavitt

10-Year Recognition:

Michael Aldrich (Library), Tamarsha Barnes\* (Information Technology), Julie Bartley (Geosciences), William Beavers\* (Landscape & Ground Maintenance), Ron Best (Accounting/Finance), John Blair (Foreign Languages), John Bleuel\* (Music), Fredrick Bryan\* (Information Technology), Tim Cannon\* (Building

Maintenance), Anuradha Chandran\* (Business Information Tech), John Congleton\* (Geosciences), Deannie Corley (Continuing Education), Jim Dillon (Psychology), Cathleen Doheny (Curriculum and Instruction), Janet Donohoe\* (Philosophy), Amy Emory\* (Office of the Controller), Cynthia Epps\* (Nursing), Vincent Gibson\* (Business Information Tech), Dennis Gould\* (External Degree Newnan), Janet Gubbins (Distance Learning), Tracey Head (Auxiliary Services), Cher Hendricks (Ed. Leadership), Darlene Jones-Owens\* (Media/Instructional Technology), Perry Kirk\* (Art), Dick Larkin (Political Science), Martha Larkin (Special Education), Nancy Lott (College of Business), Aran MacKinnon\* (History), Ann McCleary\* (History), Faye McIntyre (College of Business), Stacey Morin (English), Mary Ann Myers (Media/Instructional Technology), Keihan Nahri\* (Facilities Support Team), Marcia New (Student Services), Tami Ogletree (Education), Denise Overfield (Foreign Languages), Mike Pearson (Technical Support), Nancy Pencoe (Biology), Patricia Reinhard\* (English), Michael Richardson\* (Information Technology), Larry Schor (Psychology), Mardel Shumake\* (Information Technology), Mary Beth Slone\* (Counseling/Ed Psy), Marjorie Snipes\* (Anthropology), Scott Sykes\* (Mathematics), Allison Terry\* (Admissions), Brandy V. James\* (English), Regina West\* (Traffic Operations), and Alexandra Young (Computer Science).

# 15-Year Recognition:

Tina Bennett (President's Office), Peggy Boston\* (Custodial Services), Helen Brouillette\* (Newnan Center), Stanley Caress (Political Science), Helen Chambers\* (College of Education), Matthew Clay (College of Education), Florence Cook\* (History), Bill Gauthier\* (VP for Business/Finance), Rodney Gibbs\* (Design and Construction), Rayford Gibson\* (Building Maintenance), Bart Gillespie\* (Alumni Services), Price Hall\* (Information Technology), Jane Hill (English), Kathryn McWhorter\* (Physical Education/Rec), Richard Miller\* (Studies Abroad), Bob Morris (Ed Leadership), Edward Murphy\* (Athletics Administration), Elaine Nugent (Institutional Research), David Osborne (Biology), Patricia Pinkard (College of Arts and Sciences), Stacey Rowland\* (Distance Learning), Terri Rubino (Human Resources), Robert Sanders (Political Science), Serprenia Shell\* (Custodial Services), Ricky West\* (Landscape and Ground Maintenance), and Garth Wilson (Information Technology.)

# 20-Year Recognition:

Lynn Agan\* (Campus Planning and Development), Lisa Crafton\* (English), Elmira Eidson (History), Dorothy Geter\* (Mail Services), Randy Hendricks (English), Tina Johnson (Biology), Barbara McKenzie (Media and Instructional Technology), Shelly Parker (Purchasing), Erma Shooks (Institutional Research), Denise Tarpley\* (Admissions), Patricia Wells\* (Graduate School), and Kimily Willingham (English).

### 25-Year Recognition:

John Brown\* (Design and Construction), Cheryl Browning\* (Office of the Controller), Deborah North (Office of the Vice President), Linda Picklesimer (Student Activities), and Sylvia Shortt\* (Student Development).

### 30-Year Recognition:

Deborah Benefield\* (Residence Life), J.W. Brown\* (Custodial Services), Julian Harris (Public Safety), Anita Haynes (Student Services), Donadrian Rice (Psychology), Karen Smith (Mathematics), Bonita Stevens (Registrar), and Walter Wilcox\* (Information Technology).

### 35- Year Recognition:

Timothy Chowns\* (Geosciences) and Gerald Hall\* (Student Development).

### 40-Year Recognition:

Willie Wynn\* (Central Warehouse).

\* not present at meeting.

### V. Centennial Professor Awards – Michael Crafton

This is the second year of these awards – they are awarded to:

Muriel Cormican (Foreign Languages), Sharmistha Basu-Dutt (Chemistry), Rebecca Stanard (Counseling and Educational Psychology), Bruce Landman (Mathematics), Jane McCandless (Sociology/Criminology), Shelley Elman (Performing Arts), and Chris Huff (Ingram Library).

## VI: Election of Officers of the General Faculty

Moved to the fall.

### VII. Faculty Awards for Big Night – Tim Hynes

Big Night began 10 years ago to celebrate undergraduate research. The faculty who helped these awardees include:

Joey Smith (Business), Michael Johnson (Sociology/Criminology), Carol Gingerich (Music), Julie Bartley (Geosciences), and Megumi Fujita (Chemistry), Muriel Cormican (Foreign Language), Farooq Kahn (Chemistry), Chris Abbot (Biology), and David Boldt (Economics).

**VIII:** *Vice-President's Remarks:* Dr. Tim Hynes noted that it was May Day and he offered his gratitude for a year of incredible activity. He singled out two colleagues who "work so hard" for the benefit of UWG:

Michael Aldrich in the Office of Continuing Affairs and Michael Crafton with his focus on the classroom and library and the planning process for years to come.

Hynes noted that this was a year of many positives: a quarter of a million dollars was put into salary compression equity, internal research dollars were up twenty-percent, the Centennial Professor cash awards, UWG's third doctoral program,

the highest retention rate ever for undergraduates, and the planning and shared governance through the Faculty Senate. We continue to "focus on what we share: our learning, our colleagues' learning, and student learning."

**IX** *Closing Remarks:* Dr. Sethna directed to the faculty the "best to you in the summer as a prelude to the fall semester." and "Colleagues, thank you for all you do."

X Adjournment