Minutes of General Faculty Meeting Spring Semester, 2009 Thursday, April 30, 2009 Townsend Center 3:00 p.m. Approved August 12, 2009

## 1. Opening Comments—Dr. Beheruz N. Sethna, President

President Sethna in his opening statement noted it was a challenging year. He wanted it on record his profound and sincere thanks for the contributions made throughout the year and all the work we do every day. The budget cuts were unlike any he had seen in previous years. Good budget planning insulated the University of West Georgia from severe budget cuts and we were able to do more with less. Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost, Tim Hynes, was recognized by Dr. Sethna and Faculty for his contributions as he will serve as Interim President at Clayton State University.

- II. Approval of the Minutes
- III. Recognition of Faculty Retirees
- IV. Faculty and Staff Service Awards—Presented by Dr. Michael Ruffner, Vice President for University Advancement to the following faculty and staff members:

30 YEARS (Hire Dates Sept. 2, 1978 - Sept. 1, 1979)

Pollard	Patricia	Library
Kraft	Charlotte	Human Resources
Colevins	Annelle	Stud Affrs Web&Technology
Odom	Marion	Admissions

25 Years (Hire Dates Sept. 2, 1983 - Sept. 1, 1984)

25 15415 (11115 B4155 Coptil 2) 1555 Coptil 1) 1551)		
Clifton	Mitchell	Computer Science
Johnson	Danny	Building Maintenance
Wilburn	L. Dean	University Police
Spake	James	Building Maintenance
Jiles	Patricia	Extended Degree Programs
Gunay	Vedat	Information Technology
Hovey	David	Mgmt & Business Systems
Morgan	Harry	Curriculum & Instruction

20 Years (Hire Dates Sept. 2, 1988 - Sept. 1, 1989)

Charlesworth	John	Counseling/Ed Psy
Talpade	Salil	Marketing/Real Estate
Hibbard	Kevin	Music
Boldt	David	Economics
Frazier	Larry	Music
Baird	Audrey	Career Services
Smith	Lesker Dianne	Graduate School
Pritchett	Herschel Frank	Alumni Services
Garrison	Henry	Custodial Services
Robinson	H. Denise	Human Resources
Folds	Danny Doyle	University Police
Shirey	Ann	Financial Aid
Bonner	Martha	Custodial Services
Bennett	Laura	University Police
Gaskin	Lynne	College of Education

15 Years (Hire Dates Sept. 2, 1993 - Sept. 1, 1994)

Croy	Edward	Intramurals
Faucette	William	Mathematics
Newton	David	English
Slattery	Spencer	Chemistry
Douvanis	Costas	Ed Leadership & Prof Studies
Payne	Gregory	Biology
Roberts	Sally	Publications & Printing
Edwards	Robert Van	Central Warehouse
Leavitt	Andrew	Chemistry
Sears	Oliver D.	Building Maintenance
Ball	Anne	Learning Support
Duffey	Dale	Alumni Services
Parham	Denise	Health Services
Jones	Sonja Renet	Townsend Center
Huff	Christopher	Library
Vines	John	Building Maintenance

Smith	Gloria	Office of the Comptroller
Jones	Robert	Building Maintenance
Slate	Harold Todd	Building Maintenance
Kendrix	Barbara	Building Maintenance
Sethna	Beheruz	President
Rollins	Karen	Learning Support

10 Years (Hire Dates Sept. 2, 1998 - Sept. 1, 1999)

,	ез осра 2, 1990 - 0	Univ. Communications &
Herndon	Patricia	Mktg
Finch	Anneliesa	Advanced Academy
McFarland	Mitzi	English
Newsome	Maxine	Curriculum & Instruction
Cormican	Muriel	Foreign Languages
Roll	William	Psychology
Hines	Patricia	Continuing Education
Miller	Chad	University Police
Adams	Bonnie	English
Calvert	Oliver	Parking & Transportation
Shelnutt	Sherri	Auxiliary Services
Pritchett	Annette	College of Arts & Sciences
Houston	Peggy	Registrar
Gibbs	Shane	Central Warehouse
		Landscape & Ground
Connors	Sean	Maintenance
Horton	Melanie Suzanne	Information Technology
		Landscape & Ground
Wiggins	Terry	Maintenance
Cottrell	Leslie	Health Services
Hobbs	Lori	Facilities Administration
		Landscape & Ground
Carnes	Kenneth	Maintenance
Wesley	Alice	Graduate School
Brown	Mary	Custodial Services
Goodwin	Amy	Nursing

Harkins	Donna	Curriculum & Instruction
Kunkel	Mark	Psychology
Drake	Jill	Curriculum & Instruction
Turner	Douglas	Mgmt & Business Systems
Gainey	Thomas	Mgmt & Business Systems
Abunawass	Adel	Computer Science
Burson	N. Jo	Registrar
Pearson	Tara	Institutional Research
Helminiak	Daniel	Psychology
Rooks	Stephanie	Human Resources

- V. Election of Officers of General Faculty, Executive Secretary and Parliamentarian—Suspended officers will be elected at Faculty Senate Meeting approved by unanimous consent
- VI. Motion to change UWG's Policies and Procedures, Article V. Amendment or Repeal of By-Laws, to remove the requirement for only working within "regular" meetings so as to allow for more rapid change of By-Laws while retaining adequate deliberation of such changes (see below). Presented by Provost Hynes and Professor Chris Huff –The motion was made and after discussion a motion passed to postpone further consideration until the next meeting of the General Faculty.

A motion passed to postpone consideration of items VII and VIII until the next General Faculty meeting.

- XI. Faculty Awards for Big Night presented by Dr. Thomas J. Hynes, Jr. Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs.
- VII. Dr. Patrick Erben spoke briefly about creating an ad-hoc committee on the environment at UWG. He would like the committee to consist of students, faculty and staff from across the campus with the overall goal of UWG becoming a greener campus. Dr. Erben hopes to have an initial meeting in the fall and anyone who is interested in serving on the committee can contact him.
- Vice President's Remarks—Dr. Thomas J. Hynes, Jr. Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs—spoke briefly about the challenging year because of budget cuts. He also listed the numerous activities taking place across campus including, increased research activity, the shared governance initiative, changes to the Gen Ed requirements and the upcoming SACS accreditation.

- XIV. Closing remarks—Dr. Beheruz N. Sethna, President spoke once again of his appreciation for the contributions made by everyone at UWG and his goal to make UWG a destination university. He also thanked Don Rice for serving as Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences and introduced Dr. George Kieh as the new Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.
- XV. The meeting adjourned at 3:50 p.m.