Rules Committee Minutes for 4/13/17 meeting Approved 9/7/2017

<u>Rules Members present</u>: Susan Welch, Yun Cheng, Dan Williams, Susana Velez-Castrillon, Mary Alice Varga, Mary Bishop, John Sewell, and Jane Simpson

1. Minutes:

Any Changes, Additions, Modifications Action: Minutes approved from 3/9/2017

2. Regular Agenda Items:

a. <u>UWG Institutional Procedures</u>, <u>Section 2. Academic Affairs</u>. Rules committee members will revise/reformat the UWG <u>Procedures</u> within each area of Section 2.0 using the <u>UWG Procedure form</u>. Also, review the Faculty Handbook for the rules/regulations offered and offer revisions as necessary. The "assignments" are listed below (Rules committee member listed, new Policy name, and old <u>Faculty Handbook</u> number):

<u>Susana</u>: UWG Procedure 2.7.9, Office Hours, was approved by the Rules committee. UWG Faculty Handbook section 209 was approved by the Rules committee.

<u>Diana:</u> Textbook Selection and Ordering- 212 was deferred until the next meeting. <u>Yvonne</u>: UWG Procedure 2.7.11, Final Examinations, was approved by the Rules committee. UWG Faculty Handbook section 206 was approved by the Rules committee.

Susan: Academic Dishonesty- 207
Yun: Academic Appeals- 208
Mary: Grade Appeals- 208.04

John: Grounds for Dismissal (see Statutes, Art. V Se. 3)

Mary Alice: Student Absences- 202

Dan: Course changes, drops, and add- 204

A. Senate – Rules Committee... 2016-2017 Members List

	Senate Members			
Welch, Susan (Chair)	swelch@westga.edu	Senate – SON (2018)		
Williams, Dan	dkw@westga.edu	Senate – COAH (2018)		
Mindrila, Diana	dmindril@westga.edu	Senate-COE (2017)		
Velez-Castrillon,	svelez@westga.edu	Senate-RCOB (2019)		
Susana				
	Faculty Members			
Chestnut, Neal	nchesnut@westga.edu	Faculty – COSM (2017)		

Sewell, John	johns@westga.edu	Faculty- COSS (2017)	
Fuentes, Yvonne	yfuentes@westga.edu	Faculty- COAH (2018)	
Cheng, Yun	ycheng@westga.edu	Faculty – RCOB (2018)	
Varga, Mary Alice	maryv@westga.edu	Faculty – COE (2018)	
Bishop, Mary	mbishop@westga.edu	Faculty- SON (2017)	
Huff, Chris	chuff@westga.edu	Faculty- Library (2018)	
	Administrator		
Overfield, Denise	doverfie@westga.edu	Administrator - Provost (2017)	
Simpson, Jane	jsimpson@westga.edu	University General Counsel	
		(2017)	

Rules Email list: swelch@westga.edu, dkw@westga.edu, dkw@westga.edu, dkw@westga.edu, dkw@westga.edu, yfuentes@westga.edu, <a href="mailto:yfuentes@w

B. Rules/Senate Agenda Meeting Schedule... 2016-2017

Rules Meetings	Rules Location/Ti	Senate Agenda	Senate & Exec.	Senate Meetings	Executive Committee
(Thursday	me	Deadline	Committee	Location/Time	Location/Time
s)			Meetings		
Dates	SON 200	Dates	Dates	Location TBA	Location TBA
9/1/16	3:00-5:00	9/2/16	9/9/16	3:00pm	2:00pm/
9/29/16	10:00 - 12:00	10/7/16	10/14/16	3:00pm	2:00pm/
11/3/16	3:00-5:00	11/4/16	11/11/16	3:00pm	2:00pm/
*12/1/16	10:00 - 12:00	12/2/16	12/9/16	3:00pm	2:00pm/
1/12/17	3:00-5:00	1/20/17	1/27/17	3:00pm	2:00pm/
2/9/17	3:30-5:00	2/17/17	2/24/17	3:00pm	2:00pm/
3/9/17	3:30-5:00	3/10/17	3/17/17	3:00pm	2:00pm/
4/13/17	3:30-5:00	4/14/17	4/21/17	3:00pm	2:00pm/
6/8/17	3:00-5:00	6/9/17	6/16/17	3:00pm	2:00pm/
7/6/17	3:00-5:00	7/7/17	7/14/17	3:00pm	2:00pm/

^{*}Note: This meeting will be confirmed based upon any open agenda items as of Thursday, 12/1/16.

C. Rules Committee purpose per UWG Policy and Procedures:

O <u>Rules Committee. Purpose:</u> to review and make recommendations to the Faculty Senate regarding the structures, composition and organizational aspects of the Faculty Senate and its committees and the rules under which they operate; to resolve disputes between Senate committees; to recommend clear, transparent, efficient and effective rules for faculty participation in shared university governance; to consider appeals for cases of alleged violations to the rules; to

recommend and to coordinate revisions and updates to the <u>UWG Faculty Handbook</u>, <u>Statutes</u>, <u>Bylaws</u>, <u>Policies and Procedures</u>, and any operating protocols the Senate establishes. Membership: four senators; seven faculty, one elected from each of the following academic units: The five colleges (COSM, COSS, COAH, RCOB, COE), the School of Nursing, and the Library; two administrators: the University General Counsel; and one appointed by the Provost. (Total 13)