Faculty Senate Minutes March 29, 2019 Approved April 19, 2019

1. Call to Order

Chair Butler called the meeting to order at 3:04.

2. Roll Call

Present:

Barbour, Bohannon, Branyon, Chwialkowska, Cormican (Kilpatrick, sub.), Dutt,
Hollingsworth, Edelman, Faucette, Fleming, Geyer, Hansen, Hipchen (sub. Casper), Hoang,
Hollingsworth, Hong (Bazon, sub.), Johnson (Grant, sub.), Khodkar, McKendry-Smith, Merrem,
Miller, Moon, Morris, Neely, Nickell, Ogletree (Ponder, sub.), Pashia, Perryman, Pidhainy,
Remshagen, Richter, Robinson, Rutledge (sub. Beznosov), Scremin, Stanfield (Cook, sub.),
Sterling, Tweraser, Vasconcellos, Wadlington (sub. Steed), Zamostny, and Zot
Absent:

Berteau, Dahms, Elman, Green, Lee, Pencoe, Reber, Rees, and Snipes

3. Approval of Minutes from February 22, 2019

Minutes unanimously approved by voice vote.

4. Committee Reports

Committee I: Undergraduate Programs Committee (Jeffrey Zamostny, Chair) Action Items:

- A) College of Social Sciences
 - 1) Department of Anthropology
 - a) Anthropology, B.S.

Request: Modify

Item approved unanimously

b) ANTH 4122: Bioarchaeology

Request: Add

Item approved unanimously

c) ANTH 4885: Special Topics

Request: Modify

Item approved unanimously

- B) College of Arts and Humanities
 - 1) Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures
 - a) FORL 4501: Foundations of Language Development

Request: Modify

Item approved unanimously

- C) Tanner Health System School of Nursing
 - 1) Nursing, Pre-Licensure Track, Carrollton, BSN

Request: Modify

Item approved unanimously

2) Nursing, Pre-Licensure Track, Newnan, BSN

Request: Modify

Item approved unanimously

3) Nursing, RN to BSN Track, BSN

Request: Modify

Item approved unanimously

Information Items:

- A) Richards College of Business
 - 1) Department of Economics
 - a) Bachelor of Science in Economics, Secondary Education

Request: Terminate

- B) Ihor Pidhainy will serve as chair of UPC during AY 2019-2020.
- C) Anne Merrem will serve as chair of CHIP during AY 2019-2020.

Committee III: Graduate Programs Committee (Colleen Vasconcellos, Chair)

Action Items:

- A) College of Education
 - 1) Department of Educational Technology and Foundations
 - a) Instructional Technology, Media and Design, Ed.S., Concentrations in Instructional Technology, School Library Media

Request: Modify

Item approved unanimously

b) <u>Instructional Technology, Media and Design, M.Ed., Concentrations in</u> Instructional Technology, School Library Media

Request: Modify

Item approved unanimously

c) <u>Media Specialist Educator Certification Program and Instructional Technology</u> <u>Educator Certification Program</u>

Request: Modify

Item approved unanimously

d) Media Specialist Educator Certification Program and Instructional Technology
Educator Certification Program

Request: Modify

Item approved unanimously

e) Media, M.Ed., Concentrations in Instructional Technology, School Library Media
Request: Modify

Item approved unanimously

f) Media, M.Ed., Concentrations in Instructional Technology, School Library Media Request: Modify

Item approved unanimously

g) MEDT 7479: Digital Game-Based Learning

Request: Add

Item approved unanimously

h) MEDT 7480: Global Learning with Technology

Request: Add

Item approved unanimously

i) MEDT 8461: Diffusion of Innovations

Request: Modify

Item approved unanimously

j) MEDT 8462: Leading and Managing Instructional Technology Programs

Request: Modify

Item approved unanimously

k) MEDT 8463: Issues in Instructional Technology

Request: Modify

Item approved unanimously

1) MEDT 8465: Human Performance Improvement

Request: Add

Item approved unanimously

m) MEDT 8466: Comprehensive Exam for Ed.S. Media IT

Request: Add

Item approved unanimously

- B) College of Social Sciences
 - 1) Department of Political Science
 - a) Graduate Certificate in Nonprofit Management and Community Development

Request: Modify

Item approved unanimously

Committee IV: Faculty Development Committee (Basu Dutt, Chair)

Information Item:

A) Basu Dutt will serve as chair during AY 2019-2020

Committee VII: Facilities and Technology Committee (John Hansen, Chair)

Information Item:

A) John Hansen will serve as chair during AY 2019-2020

Committee VIII: Intercollegiate Athletics and University Advancement (Lisa Robinson,

Chair)

Information Item:

A) Anthony Fleming will serve as chair during AY 2019-2020

XI: Diversity and Internationalization Committee (Angela Pashia, Chair)

Information Items:

A) Update on progress of campus implementation of recommendations listed in the March 2018 Faculty Senate Resolution on Diversifying the Faculty.

Committee chair Angela Pashia reviewed the recommendations that Senate passed last year regarding diversifying the faculty and updated the Senate on progress that has been made. Implicit bias training has been set up and is available. Senators agreed last year to participate in this training and are encouraged to do so. In addition, Christina Brogdon in HR is working on revising materials to assist faculty when doing searches. The senate voted to recommend better tracking of candidates when doing searches: eventually we will move to an online system, and the goal is to make the system as simple as possible to use. HR is also working to gather data that will help with tracking faculty through promotion and tenure and analyzing that process's relationship to faculty diversity.

B) Angela Pashia will serve as chair during AY 2019-2020

5. Old Business

A) Student Evaluations

John Morris, chair of the Teaching, Learning, and Assessment Committee, offered an update on his committee's work. The discussion of moving student evaluations of teaching online will be taken up again in the fall. The committee will also begin a pilot program on this topic in the fall.

6. New Business

A) Nomination of Executive Officers

Angela Insenga was nominated for the position of Chair-elect, and Colleen Vasconcellos was nominated for the position of Executive Secretary of the Faculty Senate and General Faculty.

7. Announcements

- A) Senate Liaison Reports
- B) Department name change

Robert Kilpatrick, chair of Foreign Languages and Literatures, announced that the department will be changing its name to International Languages and Cultures and explained the rationale behind the decision.

C) Renaming contest for the OneUWG fund

Due to confusion with the OneUSG initiative, the OneUWG committee has decided to hold a contest to change the fund's name. The fund is intended to help faculty and staff who are facing financial difficulties due to unforeseen circumstances. UWG employees are encouraged to

submit suggestions for a new name for the fund. Suggestions may be submitted through the OneUWG webpage, available through the Ombuds Office website. The deadline for submissions is April 19. Finalists will be chosen by the committee and voted on at the Spring General Faculty Meeting and Best of the West.

D) Update on Search for President

Dr. Crafton offered an update on the likely process for the upcoming presidential search. The campus will form a committee, which will be charged by the chancellor. Senators were encouraged to think of suggestions for committee membership. The committee will be given the option of making the search open or confidential.

8. Adjournment

Chair Butler adjourned the meeting at 3:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Dr. Julia Farmer

Past Chair of Faculty Senate

Professor of Spanish

Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures