## Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes July 7, 2017

## Approved July 12, 2017

1. Call to order

Chair Farmer called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m.

2. Roll call

Present:

Marie Cecile Bertau (David Mitchell, substitute), Agnieszka Chwialkowska, Betsy Dahms, Leanne DeFoor (Rick Sigman, substitute), Basu Dutt, Jennifer Edelman (Jill Drake, substitute), Shelly Elman (Amy Cuomo, substitute), Anthony Fleming, Megumi Fujita, Rong Guo (Duane Yoder, substitute), Markesha Henderson, Emily Hipchen, Nguyen Hoang, Jessie Hong, Christie Johnson, Gavin Lee, Emily McKendry-Smith, Anne Merrem (Georgia Evans, substitute), Laura Miller, Nancy Pencoe, Twyla Perryman, Jeff Reber, Anja Remshagen, Lisa Robinson, Craig Schroer, Michelle Frazier Trotman Scott, Ashley Smallwood, Andrea Stanfield (Angela Pashia, substitute), Nick Sterling, Matt Varga, Susana Velez-Castrillon, Susan Hall Webb (Jim Burton, substitute), Susan Welch, Lara Willox, and Jeff Zamostny

Absent:

Connie Barbour, Keith Bohannon, Muriel Cormican, Katy Green, Abdollah Khodkar, Soo Moon, Dawn Neely, Paul Rutledge, Mark Schoon, Cale Self, Douglas Stuart, Felix Tweraser, Colleen Vasconcellos, Dan Williams, and Henry Zot

3. Committee Reports

Committee II: Graduate Programs Committee (Chair, Susan Hall Webb)
Action Items (Addendum I):

- A) Tanner Hospital System School of Nursing
  - Doctor of Education with a Major in Nursing Education, full-time plan of study
     Option D track

Request: Add

Item was unanimously approved.

2) Doctor of Education with a Major in Nursing Education, part-time plan of study Option D track

Request: Add

Item was unanimously approved.

3) NURS 9019: Independent Study

Request: Add

Item was unanimously approved.

- 4. Old Business
- 5. New Business
  - A) Campus Carry Implementation

Following opening remarks from Dr. Marrero, Interim Police Chief Watson presented the guidance that UWG has received from the USG regarding the implementation of HB 280. Dr. Marrero, Dr. Crafton, Chief Watson, General Counsel Jane Simpson, and implementation team chair Russell Crutchfield fielded questions and concerns from faculty. Additional questions may be sent to Jane Simpson (jsimpson@westga.edu), who will forward them to the System Office for response.

- 6. Announcements
- 7. Adjournment

Chair Farmer adjourned the meeting at 4:40 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Dr. Angela Insenga

Associate Professor of English

Executive Secretary of General Faculty and Faculty Senate