Committee Meeting Minutes Strategic Planning Standing Committee, Faculty Senate

January 16, 2015, 2:00 PM History Department Seminar Room, TLC 3205

Meeting started at 2:01 PM

Attendance

Chair Nadya Williams (History)

Member Cathi Jenks (Institutional Effectiveness and Assessment)

Micheal Crafton (Academic Affairs) Danilo Baylen (ETF Education) Heather Mbaye (Political Science)

Tami Ogletree (COE)

Randahl Morris (Mass Communications)

Christopher Jett (Math) Angela Pashia (Library) Betsy Dahms (FLL) John Blair (FLL)

A. Approval of Nov. 21, 2014 meeting minutes

B. QEP:

Nadya provided an update on what has happened since the last meeting: she took over from Debra MacComb as QEP Director.

New QEP Implementation Committee has been formed (see member list in appendix below). The committee includes members from every department on campus that has courses in the QEP, plus additional representatives from each college/school and major office on campus. The committee now meets once a month for Lunch and Learn faculty development sessions, organized by Cher Hendricks, Cathi Jenks, and Nadya Williams. The meetings of the committee allow for information to be disseminated to all involved departments via their representatives, and also for training to occur in QEP pre-planning and implementation.

Discussion of new QEP Learning Outcome that needs to be added to areas C-E. Micheal Crafton presented a new alternative to a Learning Outcome that needs to be added to each area of the core. In a recent email exchange with Barbara Brown from the USG office, she suggested that instead of adding a new outcome to each area, which requires subsequent approval by BOR Gen. Ed. Council, we could create an internal requirement that the QEP outcome be added to the courses in the QEP, rather than to the core areas. The end result will be the same -- all QEP courses will be assessed using the QEP rubric – but this new

possibility would allow us to avoid having to get permission from the BOR. Cathi Jenks said that she has contacted Dr. Cardell at SACS to check if this would be acceptable, and is still waiting to hear back.

Heather Mbaye proposed a motion to accept the plan of adding the QEP outcome internally, pending Dr. Cardell's approval. Motion approved by committee.

In case that SACS does not approve the above, and we need to send the core area LO's to be approved by the Gen. Ed. Council, the committee voted to approved the proposed Learning Outcome for core areas C-E: "Adapt written communication to specific purposes and audiences."

Discussion of the QEP rubric implementation best practices. Question came up about QEP assignment in multiple sections of the same course: must it be the same assignment? Cathi explained that ideally it would be the same assignment, but it doesn't have to be. Should be similar enough to be evaluated by the same rubric, however.

Danilo Baylen recommended updating the QEP website as soon as possible, so it could be a helpful resource for faculty.

Meeting adjourned at 3:02 pm

APPENDIX: QEP Implementation Committee Membership

Administrative Appointments	
QEP Director	Nadya Williams
AVP for Institutional Effectiveness and	Catherine Jenks
Assessment	
Center for Teaching and Learning	Cher Hendricks
Student Services and Enrollment Management	Helen Diamond-Steele
Faculty Representatives	
College of Education	Lyn Steed
Richards College of Business	Diane Williamson
College of Science and Mathematics	Scott Gordon
College of Social Sciences	Amber Smallwood
College of Arts and Humanities	TBA
Tanner Health Systems School of Nursing	Bonnie Bar
Director of First Year Writing	Bonnie Adams
Coordinator of the Writing Center	Duane Theobald
Ingram Library	Andrea Stanfield
Extended Learning	Jason Huett
Online Ed	Wendy Grisham
Honors College and Transdisciplinary Studies	Taylor Bryant
Art Department	Kevin Shunn

English Department	Meg Pearson
Philosophy	Rosemary Kellison
Department of Foreign Languages and	Felix Tweraser
Literatures	
Music Department	Elizabeth Kramer
Department of Mass Communications	Gail Reid
Department of Biology	Melissa Hullender
Department of Chemistry	Sharmistha Basu-Dutt
Department of Geosciences	Jim Mayer
Department of Physics	Julie Talbot
Department of Theatre	Adriano Cabral
Department of Political Science	Sal Peralta
	Greg Dixon
	Sheikh Drammeh
International Programs	Maria Doyle
Student Representative	
SGA President	Sandra Santiago
Representative Outside the Institution	
Community Member	Trent North