Minutes of the Technology Planning Committee 2010-2011

April 9, 2010 from 1:30 to 3:30 pm in Education Annex 113

Present

- D. M. Baylen, Chair (Senate)
- K. Kral (CIO/ITS)
- D. Fulkerson (Library)
- J. Blair (CAS)
- D. Sullivan (Library)

Not Present

- M. Aldrich (VPAA)
- T. Chowns, Asst Chair (Senate)
- B. Brickman (CAS)
- R. Xu (CAS)
- D. Nickell (COB)
- J. Huett (COE)
- S. Welch (SON)
- S. Broom (Development)
- S. Lingrell (Student Affairs)
- M. Renfrow (Facilities)
- S. D. Lindo (SGA)
- A. Cooper (SGA)
- A. Webster (SGA)

MINUTES

A. Old Business

Item 1: The members present approved the minutes of the last meeting.

Item 2: Kral (CIO) provided commentary on the recently approved 2010-2015 IT Strategic Plan by the Faculty Senate. She outlined ways that the plan could be linked to the University Strategic Plan.

Item 3: Baylen, outgoing TPC Chair, informed the members of the succession and continuity plan for TPC Leadership approved last year. Chowns will assume the chair's post starting April 2010's Faculty Senate meeting. Baylen will remain as member of the standing committee for another year. A newly appointed senator to the standing committee will become the new assistant chair.

B. New Business

Item 4: Kral (CIO) provided an update on the process involving the awards funded by the Student Technology Fee. She identified that Bucholz (Education representative) will assume the chair's role for the coming year. Deng will step down as chair but will remain as committee member. Baylen will check Kirk (Arts & Sciences representative) if he will continue to represent the college in the committee. Prince will be representing COB. Baylen will check with Welch for a representative to the committee from SON.

Item 5: Kral (CIO) provided an update on ITS Town Hall Meetings. She informed the standing committee that ITS will hold these town hall meetings on various topics at least four times annually. She asked the membership to suggest potential topics that interest a broader audience.

Item 6: Baylen (TPC Chair) presented a draft of the TPC Annual Report for Academic Year 2008-2009. He shared with the standing committee the source of data used for the report. Also, he highlighted key recommendations for the standing committee and the CIO to pursue in the next academic year.

C. Other

Item 7: Baylen (TPC Chair) recognized standing committee members (in person or in absentia) whose term will expire by the end of this term. Baylen voiced his appreciation for their service to the standing committee's work.

- Michael Aldrich, VPAA
- Barbara Brickman, Arts & Sciences/English
- Steven Broome, University Advancement
- Andrew Cooper, Student Government Association
- Diane Fulkerson, Ingram Library
- Jason Huett, Education/Media & Instructional Technology
- Kathy Kral, CIO/ITS
- Sean Lindo, Student Government Association
- Scott Lingrell, Student Affairs/Enrollment Management
- David Nickell, Business/Marketing
- Mike Renfrow, Facilities
- Alan Webster, Student Government Association
- Rui Xu, Arts & Sciences/Math

Fulkerson (Library) introduced D. Sullivan and informed the standing committee that he will replace her as representative for 2010-2011 academic year.

Meeting adjourned at 3:15 pm.