About Events during the COVID-19 Pandemic

Patrons of Music,

As the worldwide coronavirus and COVID-19 situation has evolved, University of West Georgia leaders have been closely monitoring updates and recommendations from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the Georgia Department of Public Health (DPH), and the University System of Georgia.

The health, safety, and wellbeing of all UWG stakeholders are of paramount importance. Because we know that Music is needed more than ever in this tumultuous  time, UWG Music is working on bringing our events to you in ways we haven't utilized before. Please keep checking this page for announcements about our annual events and activities.

We thank you for your continued patience and support. We look forward to the time we can gather and celebrate the beauty of music in the same room again!

UWG Music: Part of your community

The Music Program is engaged with the Carrollton and wider west Georgia communities and produces concerts and events throughout the year. All concerts are open to the public! In addition to our concerts, we actively engage with neighboring schools and organizations to promote music throughout the region, including providing guest artists, master classes, and unique opportunities to up-and-coming musicians. Don't miss your opportunity to experience these exceptional live performances - we look forward to seeing you in the audience!

Concert Calendar

Stay connected and never miss a beat! Tap below on our Concert Insider button or text EVENTS to  (678) 839-0794 and stay up to to date on the latest concert happenings; or find our events on our Facebook page.

Be a concert insider

Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, all scheduled concerts and events are being handled with extreme caution. Please stay tuned for updates as they are available.

Tickets and admission

Admission to all concerts is free (except where noted).
Events held in the Townsend Center for the Performing Arts (TCPA) are ticketed and may be picked up in the TCPA box office or online at townsendcenter.org.

Venues and Maps

For directions and information about our venues, click or tap the button below.

See our Venues

Past Events

Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, all Fall 2020 concerts and events were cancelled.

Student Recital: J. Clay Davis, piano
Tuesday, August 27, 2019 • 8:15 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Faculty Concert
Thursday, September 19, 2019 • 8:15 PM
Townsend Center for the Performing Arts

Wind Ensemble: Josh Byrd, conductor
Friday, September 27, 2019 • 7:00 PM
Carroll County Schools Performing Arts Center

Opera Workshop Scenes: Dawn Neely, director
Thursday, October 24, 2019 • 8:15 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Student Recital: Jaden Davis, baritone
and Ansley Marlowe, mezzo-soprano
Sunday, October 27, 2019 • 3:00 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Student Recital: Emma Eddleman, percussion
Sunday, November 3, 2019 • 5:00 PM
Band Room | Humanities 331

Concert Choir: Karen Graffius, conductor
Chamber Singers: Kevin Hibbard, conductor
Monday, November 4, 2019 • 8:15 PM
Carroll County Schools Performing Arts Center

Student Recital: Caleb Sutton, piano
Tuesday, November 5, 2019 • 8:15 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Student Composition Recital: Tyler Boyle
Sunday, November 10, 2019 • 5:00 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Percussion Ensemble: Katie Byrd, conductor
Tuesday, November 12, 2019 • 8:15 PM
Carroll County Schools Performing Arts Center

Saxophone Ensemble: John Bleuel, conductor
Wednesday, November 13, 2019 • 8:15 PM
Carroll County Schools Performing Arts Center

Jazz Ensemble: Ben Geyer, director
Thursday, November 14, 2019 • 8:15 PM
Townsend Center for the Performing Arts

Brass Ensemble: Cale Self, conductor
Friday, November 15, 2019 • 7:00 PM
Carroll County Schools Performing Arts Center

Graduate Recital: Alex Ansaldo, tuba
Sunday, November 17, 2019 • 3:00 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Wind Ensemble: Josh Byrd, conductor
Friday, November 22, 2019 • 7:00 PM
Carroll County Schools Performing Arts Center

Opera Workshop: Dawn Neely, director
Amahl and the Night Visitors
Friday, November 22, 2019 • 7:30 PM
Saturday, November 23, 2019 • 7:30 PM
Sunday, November 24, 2019 • 2:00PM
Carrollton Center for the Arts
Tickets available at the CCA box office or online at carrolltonarts.org

Live Recording Session with the UWG Jazz Combo
Tuesday, December 3, 2019 • 8:15 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Student Recital: Katahj Copley, tenor saxophone
and Valerie Vise, trumpet
Thursday, December 5, 2019 • 8:15 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Student Recital: Matthew Ross, percussion
and Justin Jones, percussion
Friday, December 6, 2019 • 7:30 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Faculty Recital: John Elson Williams, tenor
Friday, February 7, 2020 • 7:30 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

A Musical Theater Showcase with the UWG Opera Workshop
Thursday, February 13, 2020 • 8:15 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Wind Ensemble: Josh Byrd, conductor 
Friday, February 14, 2020 • 7:00 PM
Carroll County Schools Performing Arts Center

Concert Choir: Karen Graffius, conductor
Chamber Singers: Kevin Hibbard, conductor
Sunday, February 23, 2020 • 4:00 PM
Townsend Center for the Performing Arts

Symphonic Band: Cale Self, conductor 
Monday, February 24, 2020 • 8:15 PM
Carroll County Schools Performing Arts Center

Wright Scholars Concert
Thursday, February 27, 2020 • 8:15 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Student Recital: Sam Smith, piano
Sunday, March 1, 2020 • 3:00 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Graduate Recital: Dileesa Archer, soprano
Thursday, March 5, 2020 • 8:15 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Cancelled
Guest Artist Recital: Roza Tulyaganova, soprano
Cancelled

Cancelled
Mestizo Saxophone Quartet
Cancelled

Graduate Recital: Jon Buchholz, euphonium
Postponed
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Student Composition Recital: Brianna Brown
Postponed
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Student Recital: Brianna Cunningham, clarinet
and Ámari Jiménez, flute
Postponed
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Opera Workshop presents Cendrillon: Dawn Neely, director
Thursday, April 2, 2020 • 8:15 PM
Townsend Center for the Performing Arts
Tickets available at townsendcenter.org

Student Composition Recital: Jules Antoine
Friday, April 3, 2020 • 7:30 PM
Band Room | HUM 331

Opera Workshop presents Cendrillon: Dawn Neely, director
Saturday, April 4, 2020 • 7:30 PM
Townsend Center for the Performing Arts
Tickets available at townsendcenter.org

Graduate Recital: Deni Harling, soprano
Sunday, April 5, 2020 • 3:00 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Student Recital: Monifa Middleton and Angel Sneed, mezzo-soprano
Sunday, April 5, 2020 • 7:30 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Honors Recital
Tuesday, April 7, 2020 • 2:00 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Student Recital: Emily Thomas, mezzo-soprano
Thursday, April 9, 2020 • 8:15 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Faculty and Guest Artist Recital:
Chris Mothersole, clarinet
and Tim Fitzgerald, clarinet
Saturday, April 11, 2020 • 6:30 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Concert Choir: Karen Graffius, conductor
Chamber Singers: Kevin Hibbard, conductor
Tuesday, April 14, 2020 • 8:15 PM
Carroll County Schools Performing Arts Center

Symphonic Band: Cale Self, conductor
Friday, April 17, 2020 • 7:00 PM
Carroll County Schools Performing Arts Center

Sunbelt Jazz Festival
Saturday, April 18, 2020 • 6:00 PM
The AMP at Adamson Square

Percussion Ensemble: Katie, Byrd, conductor
Monday, April 20, 2020 • 8:15 PM
Carroll County Schools Performing Arts Center

Saxophone Ensemble: John Bleuel, conductor
Tuesday, April 21, 2020 • 8:15 PM
Carroll County Schools Performing Arts Center

Faculty and Guest Artist Recital:
Cale Self, euphonium
and Beth Chouinard Mitchell, tuba
Wednesday, April 22, 2020 • 7:00 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Brass Ensemble: Cale Self, conductor
Thursday, April 23, 2020 • 8:15 PM
Townsend Center for the Performing Arts

Wind Ensemble: Josh Byrd, conductor
Friday, April 24, 2020 • 7:00 PM
Carroll County Schools Performing Arts Center

Woodwind Ensemble: Josh Byrd, conductor
Sunday, April 26, 2020 • 3:30 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Student Recital: Sam Smith, piano
Tuesday, August 28, 2018 • 8:15 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Wind Ensemble: Josh Byrd, conductor
Friday, September 28, 2018 • 7:30 PM
Carroll County Schools Performing Arts Center

Alumnus Recital: Manuel Vizurraga, piano
Tuesday, October 9, 2018 • 8:15PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Faculty Recital: Cale Self, euphonium
with Ashley Hawkins
Tuesday, October 23, 2018 • 8:15PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Music Faculty Concert
Thursday, October 25, 2018 • 8:15 PM
Townsend Center for the Performing Arts

Opera Workshop: Dawn Neely, director
Tuesday, October 30, 2018 • 8:15 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Concert Choir: Emily Jenkins, conductor
Chamber Singers: Kevin Hibbard, conductor
Sunday, November 4, 2018 • 4:00 PM
Carroll County Schools Performing Arts Center

Brass Ensemble: Cale Self, conductor
Tuesday, November 6, 2018 • 8:15 PM
Carroll County Schools Performing Arts Center

Percussion Ensemble: Katie Byrd, conductor
Wednesday, November 7, 2018 • 8:15PM
Carroll County Schools Performing Arts Center

Jazz Ensemble: Ben Geyer, conductor
Thursday, November 8, 2018 • 8:15 PM
Townsend Center for the Performing Arts

Student Recital: Kareem West, tenor
Friday, November 9, 2018 • 7:30 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Wind Ensemble: Josh Byrd, conductor
Sunday, November 11, 2018 • 4:00 PM
Carroll County Schools Performing Arts Center

Saxophone Ensemble: John Bleuel, conductor
Tuesday, November 13, 2018 • 8:15 PM
Carroll County Schools Performing Arts Center

Student Recital: Darius Brown, trumpet
Friday, November 16, 2018 • 7:30 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Student Recital: Kristen Greenstein, clarinet
and Martez Stroud, percussion
Thursday, November 29, 2018 • 8:15 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Student Recital: Courtney Alley, horn
Thursday, December 6, 2018 • 8:15 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Student Composition Recital: Tyler Boyle
Friday, December 7, 2018 • 7:30 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Guest Artist Recital: Jennifer Pedersen, soprano
and Misty Theisen, flute
Thursday, January 17, 2018 • 8:15 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Faculty Recital: John Williams, tenor
Friday, February 1, 2019 • 7:30 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Wind Ensemble: Josh Byrd, conductor
Friday, February 15, 2019 • 7:30 PM
Carroll County Schools Performing Arts Center

Wright Scholars Concert
Thursday, February 21, 2019 • 8:15 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Concert Choir: Emily Jenkins, conductor
Chamber Singers: Kevin Hibbard, conductor
Friday, February 22, 2019 • 7:30 PM
Carrollton Center for the Arts

Symphonic Band and Brass Ensemble: Cale Self, conductor
Sunday, February 24, 2019 • 3:00 PM
Carroll County Schools Performing Arts Center

Daniel Bakos Jazz Trio
Friday, March 1, 2019 • 7:30 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Opera Workshop presents Die Fledermaus: Revenge of the Bat
Dawn Neely, director
Thursday, March 7, 2019 • 8:15 PM
Saturday, March 9, 2019 • 7:30 PM
Townsend Center for the Performing Arts
Tickets available for purchase at townsendcenter.org

Honors Recital
Tuesday, April 2, 2019 • 2:00 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Student Recital: Kayla Parker, soprano
Sunday, April 7, 2019 • 3:00 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Student Recital: Kelsey Williams, soprano
Sunday, April 7, 2019 • 5:00 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Student Recital: Luke Bass, tuba
and Mary Kathryn Newton, flute
Sunday, April 7, 2019 • 7:30 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Woodwind Ensemble: Josh Byrd, conductor
Percussion Ensemble: Katie Byrd, conductor
Monday, April 8, 2019 • 8:15 PM
Carroll County Schools Performing Arts Center

Concert Choir: Emily Jenkins, conductor
Chamber Singers: Kevin Hibbard, conductor
Tuesday, April 9, 2019 • 8:15 PM
Carroll County Schools Performing Arts Center

Symphonic Band & Brass Ensemble:
Cale Self, conductor
Friday, April 12, 2019 • 7:30 PM
Carroll County Schools Performing Arts Center

Student Recital: Christina Pham, piano
Saturday, April 13, 2019 • 3:00 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Sunbelt Jazz Festival: Ben Geyer, director
Saturday, April 13, 2019 • 4:00 PM
Carrollton AMP

Saxophone Ensemble: John Bleuel, conductor
Tuesday, April 16, 2019 • 8:15 PM
Carroll County Schools Performing Arts Center

Wind Ensemble: Josh Byrd, conductor
Wednesday, April 17, 2019 • 7:30 PM
Carroll County Schools Performing Arts Center

UWG Horn Studio Recital
Monday, April 22, 2019 • 8:15 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Student Composition Recital: Angel Sneed
Tuesday, April 23, 2019 • 8:15 PM
Band Room | HUM 331

Student Composition Recital: Jules Antoine and Katahj Copley
Thursday, April 25, 2019 • 8:15 PM
Band Room | HUM 331

Student Composition Recital: Brianna Brown and Brian Jones Jr.
Friday, April 26, 2019 • 7:30 PM
Band Room | HUM 331

Student Composition Recital: Alex Ferré
Sunday, April 28, 2019 • 4:00 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Student Recital: Alex Payne, saxophone
Sunday, April 28, 2019 • 6:00 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Student Recital: Jordan Thorne, saxophone
Sunday, April 28, 2019 • 8:00 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall

Student Recital: Kayla Perez, soprano; and Evan Crowther, baritone
Tuesday, April 30, 2019 • 7:30 PM
Kathy Cashen Recital Hall