The UWG Theatre Program offers scholarships and awards to both incoming and returning theatre majors. Below is the list of awards, their criteria, and the approximate worth of each.

Apply for a Scholarship

The Friends of Theatre New Talent Award is given to an incoming freshman or transfer theatre major with a GPA of 3.0 or above.

This award is the result of the strong community support for the West Georgia Theatre Company. Contributions come from fund raising efforts, donations and ticket sales. With this scholarship, the Department of Theatre honors the community and provides financial support to a deserving new theatre major. The award is worth approximately $800 per year and is endowed.

Encore Theatre Company Theatre Achievement Scholarship is to provide financial assistance annually to no more than two declared theatre majors at the rank of freshman or higher. The Recipient(s) of the scholarship shall demonstrate talent in the performing arts via audition or interview, and shall demonstrate continuing dedication to the Theatre Arts Program as determined by the theatre faculty. The faculty may also take into consideration, as a secondary matter, the financial need of the auditionees.

This scholarship was created through the generosity of the Encore Theatre Company, a Carrollton community theatre that earned a reputation for high quality and professionalism and whose legacy will reside in the students who earn the scholarships. The scholarship is worth approximately $800-$1,000 per student and is endowed.

The William B. Bolling III Scholarship is awarded in the memory of an outstanding theatre student whose life tragically ended in dedication as an actor. The award is worth approximately $500 per year and is endowed.

The Mildred Fokes Godard Theatre Arts Scholarship was established by Dr. John E. Godard in honor of his wife, Mrs. Godard, a former theatre major at Hollins College. Mrs. "Bunny" Godard remains extremely active in community theatre and is a strong advocate of the arts.

The Scholarship is awarded annually to a rising full-time junior or senior majoring in theatre. The recipient must demonstrate financial need. The student must have an overall GPA of 2.7 with a 3.0 GPA or higher in theatre courses. The award is worth approximately $800 and is endowed.

The Ossie McCord McLarty Scholarship is awarded to a student majoring in theatre. Financial need is not a consideration for this award. Students who show an outstanding commitment and dedication to their discipline will be considered. The award is worth approximately $1,000 annually and is endowed. 

The David Carter Neale Memorial Scholarship is awarded to a theatre major with an interest in scenic design and/or direction, and who might see their education disrupted without the benefit of this scholarship. This scholarship is need based, meaning that the recipient must be receiving some form of financial aid to be a candidate for this scholarship.

David Carter Neale was a 1983 graduate of the University of West Georgia and enrolled in the graduate Theatre program at the University of Virginia. David was visiting friends at West Georgia when he met his untimely death in an auto accident near the University. This award is worth approximately $500-$1000 per year and is endowed.

The Dr. J. Oliver Link Scholarship is awarded to a full-time undergraduate student majoring in theatre. Special consideration will be given for applicants at the sophomore level. The recipient will exhibit strong collaborative, academic, and leadership skills in all areas of Theatre. Dr. Link was a long-time Director of the Theatre Program. He was much beloved by his students as a teacher and mentor. $400-$500 per year and is endowed.

The Cindy Stone Denney Scholarship for Performing Arts will be awarded annually by a scholarship committee within the Department of English, Film, Languages and Performing Arts.

The recipients(s) of the scholarship will meet the following preferences:

Be a junior, senior or graduate student;
Be a student(s) studying in the Performing Arts;
Have a 3.0 GPA; and
Must demonstrate financial need.

P.J. Younglove Hovey Live Art Scholarship is given to a junior or senior with a GPA of 2.0 or higher majoring in theatre. This scholarship was established by the Live Arts at the Townsend Center Planning Committee to support students majoring in Art, Music and Theatre, This award is worth $500 and is not endowed.

The Gordon Watson Award in Theatre is given to a junior or senior level theatre major with the highest GPA and who exhibits extraordinary dedication and commitment to the Theatre Company. A plaque and a $50-$100 gift is given to the recipient at the annual Honors Convocation usually held in April. This is not an endowed award.

The Theatre Company Member of the Year Award is given to a student who majors or minors in theatre. It is awarded to the student or students who show a selfless dedication to the Theatre Company and its season of plays and presentations. The award is worth approximately $50-$100 and is not endowed.