Students apply for a nursing scholarship in the UWG Scholarship Portal

Additionally, we ask that all nursing major students applying for scholarships also click on this link and answer the THS School of Nursing Scholarship Supplemental Questions. 

All students who apply for scholarships must file a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) form in the Financial Aid office or online. The deadline is May 15th. Nursing scholarship awards are based solely on this information from the Financial Aid office. Failure to complete and turn in a FAFSA form will result in denial of scholarship monies. For more information about financial aid, please contact the Office of Financial Aid for the University of West Georgia.

In 2019-2020 the Tanner Health System School of Nursing awarded $372,536 in scholarships to students!

Important Deadlines

  • Incoming Student Application Deadline: February 1, 2020.
  • Current Student Application Deadline: March 1, 2020.
  • Tanner Health System School of Nursing Application Deadline: June 1, 2020.
  • College of Education Application Deadline: January 13, 2020.
  • Richards College of Business Application Deadline: March 15, 2020.
  • College of Social Sciences Application Deadline: March 1, 2020.
  • College of Science and Math Application Deadline: March 23, 2020.
  • Honors College Application Deadline: March 1, 2020.

Nursing Scholarships

  • Arta Mae Whatley Scholarship Fund
  • W. Horace Ayers Nursing Scholarship in Memory of Dennis H. Ayers and Dana Hudson Fund
  • Barbara Harris Poindexter Holistic Nursing Endowment
  • Betsy Jean Sutton Scholarship
  • Betty Irvine Griffith Memorial Scholarship Fund
  • Bowdon Hospital Authority
  • Carroll-Haralson Medical Alliance Endowed Scholarship
  • Dr. Claudette Hayes Nursing Scholarship Endowment 
  • DeVillier Family Trust Fund
  • Donna Ayers Memorial Nursing Scholarship
  • Dr. & Mrs. Joseph William Parks III Trailblazer Scholarship
  • Dr. Janice C. Keys Nursing Scholarship
  • Dr. Jeanette C. Bernhardt Merit Scholarship 
  • Ernest M. Sewell Scholarship
  • Herbert W. Hatton Nursing Scholarship Fund
  • Hugh L. Brock, Jr. and Doris Holligsworth Brock Scholarship for Nursing Education Fund
  • Ila Mae Gunnell Memorial Scholarship
  • Jackie Esslinger Endowed Nursing Scholarship Fund
  • Jean Aycock McCauley Scholarship
  • Johnson-Bryant Family Scholarship Fund
  • Jonathan and Larry Grams Memorial Scholarship
  • Kaiser Permanente Endowed Nursing Scholarship Fund
  • Lettie Pate Whitehead Foundation Scholarship
  • Pansy Tisinger Brown Memorial Nursing Scholarship
  • Peter Woodhouse Ware Graduate Nursing Scholarship
  • Phyllis and Jim Rogers Nursing Scholarship
  • Planas-Taylor Nursing Scholarship
  • Raymond L. Abernathy Graduate Nursing Scholarship
  • Reeve Family Endowed Nursing Scholarship
  • Reynolds Endowed Nursing Education Scholarship
  • Robert D. Tisinger Nurse Scholarship
  • Tanner Health System Nursing Scholarship Endowment Fund
  • Carl C. and Judith F. Horvath Memorial Scholarship 

Remember you must fill out a FAFSA with Financial Aid before you can be considered for any scholarships. The deadline is May 15th. Contact the financial aid office at 678-839-6421 for campus scholarships available, the service cancelable loan program, and other loans.