by Madison Murphy

For more than five decades, the University of West Georgia has recognized the achievements of its superior students. Following tradition, UWG honored students for their hard work and academic achievements at the 55th annual Academic Honors Convocation.

A student speaks with a fellow student on her research in front of a poster

More than 50 UWG students who are set for graduation in May were honored with different awards during the ceremony, which served as the culmination of the Honors College’s third annual Scholars’ Day.

Students from all majors were encouraged to submit presentations and research to present at a conference prior to the ceremony. Works varied in format from oral presentations to performances.

Dr. Janet Donohoe, dean of the Honors College, said Scholars’ Day is an important event to celebrate all the good work UWG students have accomplished, with an undergraduate research conference in the afternoon and the Honors Convocation in the evening.

“The research conference is an invaluable experience for the students because they have the chance to practice their communication skills, get public feedback on their research and have the opportunity to answer questions people have about their research,” Donohoe said. “Then, at Honors Convocation, the best of UWG’s students receive recognition for their hard work. When we are all so busy with school work and paper-writing, it’s important we take a day to recognize the importance of all that work and celebrate the students who are excelling.”

Dr. Micheal Crafton, UWG’s interim president, began the program with a warm welcome, followed by music presentation and theatre performance showcasing talented UWG students.

“The Academic Honors Convocation is the capstone event of a daylong display of outstanding academic work,” Crafton said.

Two students speak about research presented during the conference

During the afternoon conference, students from all five colleges and the Tanner Health System School of Nursing presented their research for members of the UWG faculty and staff, as well as other students. Students spent months preparing to display their research among peers as well as professionals.

“The conference allows our students and faculty mentors to present their own research,” Crafton continued. “Today we had more than 205 student participants. The work the students and faculty mentors are doing is exceedingly impressive, and I am very proud of their efforts.”

The following is a list of honors convocation award recipients:

  • College of Science and Mathematics
    The James Emory Boyd Awards

    Chemistry - Dali Davis
    Geology - Robert Reid
    Computer Science - David Jarrett and Nicholas Crowe
    Physics - Lilly Sue Matteson

    The Outstanding Senior in Biology Faculty Award

    Lydia Fuller

    The American Institute of Chemists Award

    Kimberly Marroquin

  • College of Social Sciences
    The Tom Herndon Awards

    Geography - Joshua Kilgore
    Criminology - Zachary Henson
    Sociology - Valerie McPherson
    Economics - Bailey Thomas Musick
    History - Erin Dewberry
    Political Science - Bresha’ Tanisha Baker
    Psychology - Kardeem Joseph

    The Carole E. Hill Award in Anthropology

    Andrew Phillip Wiggins

    The Waring Distinguished Scholar Award

    Julia Lenderman

  • College of Arts and Humanities
    The Gordon Watson Award

    Art - Laura Bussey
    English - Katherine Bowden
    Philosophy - Avery Stanley
    Foreign Language-French - Eva Marchbanks
    Foreign Language-German - Laura Smedley
    Foreign Language-Spanish - Ashton Hendricks
    Mass Communications - Andrew Hicks and Jake Boden Brooks
    Theatre Arts - Monica Garcia
    Music - Derek Ware

    Sally Pafford Memorial Scholarship

    Tegan Pedersen

    The H. O. Lovvorn Scholarship

    D’asia Denham

  • Tanner Health System School of Nursing
    Nursing Award of Excellence

    BSN Newnan - Brandy Sawtelle
    BSN Carrollton - Paul Bellgraph
    RN-BSN - Terry Dickerson

  • Richards College of Business
    Frank R. Hunsicker Award in Management

    MaryLeith Turner

    College of Business Award in Academic Excellence

    Accounting - Zachery Clenton Harris
    Finance - Guanyuam (Vicky) Li
    Marketing - Jonathan Denny
    Real Estate - William Candler
    Management Information Systems - Ambrose Joey Moncayo

  • College of Education
    Outstanding Student in Communication Sciences and Disorders

    Kevante Drew

    Outstanding Student in Early Childhood Education

    Kris Asamoah

    Outstanding Student in Secondary Education

    Doris Martin

    Outstanding Student in Physical Education

    Alexandria Cunningham

    Health and Physical Education Excellence in Teaching

    Alexandria Cunningham

    Outstanding Student in Sport Management

    Sean Teters

    Exemplary Leadership in Sport Management

    Agustin Duarte Federico

    W. Malcolm Flanagan Award

    Jordan Stone

    Outstanding Student in Health and Community Wellness

    Carissa Anderson

    Making a Difference - Outstanding Community Service Award

    Chante Hill

  • University Awards
    Mrs. Jewell Miles Burson Calculus Award

    Brandi Ellis

    Marion Crider Awards

    Stacia Keller, Dylan Mertens and Savannah Canady

    Outstanding Women’s Studies Award

    Janet Allison Hammond

    Beheruz N. Sethna Undergraduate Research Award

    Perry Wasdin

    Outstanding Honors College Students

    Freshman - Danielle Gorman
    Sophomore - James Harris
    Junior - Dylan Reber
    Senior - Summer Rand

    John J. Pershing Award for Scholarship

    Summer Rand and Amber Tatham Smith

    Academic Recognition Day Scholar

    Dali Davis


Posted on April 11, 2019