The University of West Georgia 2015 football team and coaching staff were honored on Monday, Feb. 8, at the Georgia State Capitol. The Wolves were recognized on the Senate floor with the reading of a resolution that highlighted the team’s history-making season.

UWG Wolves Honored at State CapitolQuarterback Dallas Dickey, punter James Dugan and tight-end Beau Dugan were called to the Senate floor and greeted by Lt. Governor Casey Cagle.

“This is a very highly decorated team, and they have many great things to look forward to,” Cagle said.

Cagle called on District 30 Senator and Administration Floor Leader Mike Dugan to speak to the resolution and recognize the team.

“This is the second year in a row that we’ve recognized the University of West Georgia’s football team, and there is a good reason for that,” Dugan said. “This is the second year that they’ve been the Super Region’s champion. We’re proud of their 12 wins. We’re proud that they ended up the highest ranked team in the state and finished a good second.

“We’re proud that they’ve got the highest amount of home-grown talent in any program in the state,” Dugan continued. “Around 88 percent of the students who are participating in the football team are coming through schools here in Georgia. We are proud that they are doing as well off the field, in the classroom and in the community. It has made me proud watching these players grow up and do great things, and they’re just getting started.”

UWG Head Football Coach Will Hall expressed gratitude for the support the Senate has given the team. Hall also mentioned the numerous great things UWG has accomplished over the last few years, such as the Wolves’ overall 12-2 record, which was the best record for a UWG Division II team at UWG.

Hall also highlighted the fact the team ranked second in the final poll, which is the highest national ranking in the program’s history. They also ranked third in the final American Football Coaches Association (AFCA). The team also made it to the semifinal round of the NCAA Division II Playoffs as well as became GSC Champions. Additionally, Coach Hall was announced as the AFCA DII Region 2 Coach of the Year.

Several players also received individual honors for their performances during the season. Three UWG players were honored as members of the All-American team. Nine players became members of the 2015 Don Hansen All-Super Region 2 Team. Six players were voted to the league’s 2015 Fireseeds GSC All-Academic Football Team. Two players were named members of the Associated Press Little All-American Team, which is the first time two players became members during the same season.  


Posted on Wednesday, February 10, 2016