The University of West Georgia Police Department is part of the President's Division and answers to the President of the University. The department, previously known as Department Public Safety, was organized for the purpose of providing law enforcement, security, parking, transportation services, and response to emergencies for members of the University Community. On January 1, 2008 the department was officially renamed the University of West Georgia Police Department when the parking and transportation divisions were transferred to the Auxiliary Enterprises Department.

The University Police Department provides traditional law enforcement services, security, and emergency response to the University Community 24 hours a day 7 days a week 365 days a year. "WE NEVER CLOSE!" Each officer and employee is responsible for accomplishing the department mission through performance demonstrating excellence in providing professional law enforcement and safety services. Officers and employees are aware of the department mission, statutory authority (OGCA- 20-3-72 & 20-8-2 & 20-8-3) as law enforcement officers, jurisdictional boundaries, use of discretion, and the role of the department within the community. Each police officer, prior to exercising the powers of a University Police Officer, will fulfill the training requirements of a sworn/certified officer as defined in Georgia Law 35-8-8. Thus, all officers are required to successfully complete the POST Mandate (Police Academy) training prior to any assignment in any capacity in which the officer is allowed to carry weapons or is in a position to make an arrest.

The University Police jurisdiction includes all property owned or leased by the University plus 500 yards. Since the University falls under the authority of the University System of Georgia, University Police officers have arrest authority on the campuses of the other 26 institutions within the system. Certified officers from those institutions may exercise their arrest powers while on the West Georgia campus.

The University of West Georgia Police Department is organized into five divisions; the Administrative Division, Uniform Patrol Division, Criminal Investigative Division, the Communication and Technology Division, and the Professional Standards/Training Division. Each division performs separate and distinct activities, which are interrelated. Supervisors of each of the five components answer directly to the Chief of Police.