1996, June 12. West Georgia College became the State University of West Georgia and the three undergraduate units became Colleges rather than Schools.

1997, April. A new logo symbolizing the torch of knowledge was adopted to replace the McIntosh stone logo.

1997, Fall. Freshman Center (now the Excel Center) established to help students excel in their initial college work and beyond.

1998. University received approval for its first doctoral program, an Ed.D. in School Improvement.

1999, June 9. The Honors College became an official part of the State University of West Georgia, and held the distinction of being the only such college in the state of Georgia.

2001. Building of the Technology-enhanced Learning Center (TLC) was completed.

2004. The University awarded its first three doctoral degrees.

2005, January 12. By a vote of the Board of Regents, State University of West Georgia became University of West Georgia.

2005. For the fifth time in the past seven years, more students from the Honors College have been accepted to present research at the annual meeting of the National College Honors Council than from any other college or university in the country.

2005. For the fourth time in the last four years, the university co-ed cheerleaders have won the UCA College Cheerleading National Championship in Division II.

2006, August 18. UWG celebrates 100 years!