Chester Gibson, Ph.D. was the Chair of the Department of Mass Communication and Theatre Arts for many years. He was the guiding force behind the University of West Georgia’s nationally acclaimed debate team. Our annual contest was named in his honor and each year, the best and brightest COMM 1110 students compete for cash and prizes with their persuasive speeches. 

Previous Gibson Content winners:

  • Jim Martz, 2004  (Peggy Gauthier, Adviser)
  • Artisia Tinny, 2005 
  • Katherine England, 2006 
  • Cheryl Ann Frazier, 2007 
  • Jennifer Joiner, 2008 
  • Chelsie Wilson, 2009 (Bruce Daniel, Adviser)
  • Anthony Duffey 2010 (Gail Reid, Adviser)
  • Mandy Morris, 2011 (Gail Reid, Adviser)
  • Christina DeMartina, 2012 (Bruce Daniel, Adviser)
  • Daniel Garner, 2013 
  • Sydney Rae West, 2014 (Gail Reid, Adviser)
  • Tim Bergquist, 2015 (Bruce Daniel, Adviser)

The 2016 contest will be held November 30, 2016.