On March 1, 2014, the Institutional Research and Planning (IRP) office began its transition to an Office of Institutional Effectiveness and Assessment (IEA) at which time official institutional oversight, training, and support for assessment activities across campus was transferred to it. As a result of this transition, several support structures were put in place to effect a culture of assessment and continuous improvement on the UWG campus. These included the hiring of a Director of Assessment, the establishment of institutional and divisional level assessment committees, and the appointment of assessment coordinators in every unit and for every academic program. 

Institutional Assessment

All units as depicted in the organizational charts located in the current UWG Fact Book, including academic departments, are responsible for documenting the assessment of outcomes related to its primary purpose. Assessment data is used to develop and implement modifications to service delivery aimed at improving effectiveness, efficiency, quality, and customer satisfaction.

  • Assessment of Educational Units and Programs
  • Assessment of Administrative and Educational Support Services
  • Tab Heading 1

    Student performance indicators are established within curriculum structures by specifying student learning goals, outcomes, and the steps to achieve them. A Curriculum and Assessment Map depicting how a program imparts learning outcomes to its students facilitates this effort.

    Educational Units and Programs, as defined by the University System of Georgia Degrees and Majors Authorized (DMA), are also responsible for assessing program operational outcomes as objective indicators of program performance. SACSCOC includes stand-alone minor programs to the list of programs required to conduct program assessment. Objective indicators include data on enrollment, retention, degrees awarded, job/graduate school placement, post-graduation earnings, and employer evaluations, among other data points. Typically, operational outcome data is generated from the student information system and not by the programs.

  • Tab Heading 2

    Support services are provided by every organizational unit throughout the Institution. Guided by unit mission statements, each organizational unit assesses the degree to which it is fulfilling its function. Administrative directives may be dictated to units periodically. When these directives are added, unit assessments must incorporate those types of modifications into their existing assessment activities and documents.


Assessment Timelines

Assessment at UWG is on an annual cycle using a staggered reporting schedule that corresponds to the operations of different units. Specifically, the timeline is created to reflect the time data collected in the assessment is available, current, and actionable. The due date reflects the date units are to have completed entering data into the online assessment system, Weave. Due dates are:

  • January 15
    • Information Technology Services
    • University Advancement
    • President's Division
    • Student Affairs & Enrollment Management - Group A
        • Center for Adult Learners & Veterans
        • Counseling Center
        • New Student Programs
        • Advising Center
        • International Student Admissions & Programs
  • March 15
    • Student Affairs & Enrollment Management - Group B
        • Admissions
        • Registrar
        • Enrollment Services
  • October 15
    • Business & Finance
    • Student Affairs & Enrollment Management - Group C
        • Health Services
        • Center for Academic Success
        • Housing & Residence Life
        • Center for Student Involvement
        • Career Center
        • University Recreation
  • November 1
    • Academic Affairs
        • Provost
        • Colleges
        • Departments
        • Academic Programs
        • Extended Learning
        • other Academic Activities