Purpose: to recommend policy concerning appointments, promotions, tenure, grievances, discipline and dismissals; to serve as the Faculty Hearing Committee in accordance with the Board of Regents established faculty grievance process; to determine the allocation of UWG funded grant support; to serve in an advisory capacity on faculty and institutional research, institutional diversity,  sponsored projects, and other faculty development issues as may be requested by administration;A member of this committee will serve as Senate representative on the Alternative Dispute Resolution Committee. It is also recommended that a member of this committee serve on the university’s advisory committee on honorary degrees.

Membership:  five senators; seven faculty, one elected from each of the five colleges (COSM, COSS, COAH, RCOB, COE), the School of Nursing, the Library; three administrators: one appointed by the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs; one appointed by the Senior Diversity Officer; and the University Counsel.  (Total: 15) 

  • Committee Members


    • Basu Dutt (RCOB), 2020, chair
    • Betsy Dahms (COAH), 2020
    • Mark Faucette (COSM), 2021
    • Jeff Reber (COSS), 2020
    • Soo Moon (COSS), 2020


    • COSM Rep.: Neal Chestnut, 2019
    • COSS Rep.: Ericka Wentz, 2020
    • COAH Rep.:  Michael de Nie, 2019
    • RCOB Rep.: Salvador Lopez, 2020
    • COE Rep.: TBA, 2019
    • TSON Rep.: Kelly Dyar, 2020
    • LIBR Rep.: Anne Barnhart, 2019


    • Micheal Crafton, Provost
    • Jane Simpson, General Counsel
    • Michael Hester, Senior Diversity Officer
  • Meeting Dates
    • September 28, 2018, 1:00 p.m., 2212 Miller Hall
    • April 20, 2018, virtual meeting
    • Tuesday, January 30, 2018, 1:00 p.m., TLC 2134
    • Friday, November 17, 12:00 p.m., TLC 2134
    • Tuesday, October 17, 3:30 p.m., Nursing 112
    • Tuesday, September 5, 3:30 p.m., TLC 2134
  • Meeting Agendas
  • Meeting Minutes