Purpose:  to serve in an advisory capacity to the Vice President of Business and Financial Services and Vice President for University Advancement, to recommend policy and procedures concerning athletic admission standards, athletic budgets, program expansion or reduction, and membership in associations; and to oversee the enforcement of conference, association and accreditation rules and regulations; to recommend policy and procedures concerning university public relations, alumni relations, marketing, university events, and convocations; to consult on priorities for fund raising and capital campaigns. It is recommended that members of this committee be invited to serve on related committees across campus, e.g., athletic budget, graduation ceremony planning committee.

Membership:  three senators; eight faculty, one elected from each of the five colleges (COSM, COSS, COAH, RCOB, COE), the School of Nursing and the Library; and the University’s NCAA Faculty Athletics Representative; three administrators: the Director of Athletics; one appointed by the Provost, and one by the Vice President for University Advancement; one student, appointed by SGA (Total: 15)

  • Committee Members


    • Kathleen Barrett (COSS), 2023, Chair
    • Scott Gordon (COSM), 2021
    • Elaine McKinnon (COAH), 2023


    • COSM Rep.: Javier Hasbun, 2021
    • COSS Rep.: Mikhail Besnosov, 2022
    • COAH Rep.: Meg Pearson, 2021
    • RCOB Rep.: Mariana Sanchez, 2021
    • COE Rep.: Tommy Jackson, 2022
    • THSSON Rep.: Cynthia Brown, 2021
    • LIBR Rep.: Vacant
    • NCAA Faculty Representative: Morris Council 


    • TBD


    • Daryl Dickey, Athletic Director
    • Meredith Brunen, Associate VP for University Advancement
    • David Newton, VPAA Representative
  • Meeting Dates
    • Tuesday, September 10th at 3 PM, Athletic Operations Building in the Athletic Complex
  • Meeting Agendas
  • Meeting Minutes