by Katie Stepp

The WOLF Internet Radio howls at night to entertain students. Now, they have been rewarded for their efforts.

The WOLF Internet Radio staffThe College Broadcasters, Inc. (CBI) 2017 National Student Production Awards gave the spring season of the Night Howl third place in the category of Best Audio Regularly Scheduled Programs.  

This award is the second win of the year for the University of West Georgia’s WOLF Internet Radio in a national competition, and the first for the Night Howl.

CBI announced the winners at the 2017 National Student Electronic Media Convention held in November.

“This is a major boost of confidence for our station and allows us to showcase the reasons why The WOLF Internet Radio is the best radio station in our state,” said Shawn Isaacs, general manager. “This will be a highlight for our graduating seniors entering the job market, as well as for incoming freshmen looking for experiential learning.”

All of the entries for the production awards were completely produced by students for a campus media outlet or college credit course. The contest was open to all college or university radio stations, including over-the-air, internet, and cable/closed circuit television facilities and other student media outlets.

The Night Howl was produced by Bre’anna Singleton, Hayley Barker, Ashly Traylor, Edosa Isibor, Brandon Wright and Tomichella Curry.

“College radio is an awesome opportunity for young broadcasters to learn about the industry,” said Singleton, radio host. “This award is a testament to the quality of our professors at UWG and The WOLF Internet Radio. It’s an honor to have our work recognized.”

The Best Audio Regularly Scheduled Program award is highly coveted because it showcases the best radio content from all around the nation, as it encompasses student produced programs that run at regular intervals throughout the semester.

The WOLF Internet Radio placed ahead of Radio DePaul and behind Colorado State University and North Central College , who placed first and second, respectively. No other college or university from Georgia placed as a finalist.

Posted on November 29, 2017