by Joy Esiemokhai

Every spring semester since 1964, the University of West Georgia has honored the achievements of students who strive for and achieve scholastic distinction. Known as the Academic Honors Convocation, this 51-year-old tradition takes place on what has come to be designated as Honors Day.

Academic Excellence Celebrated at 2015 Honors Convocation Recently, that tradition was once again upheld as family, friends, and faculty filled the main theater in UWG’s Townsend Center for the Performing Arts to celebrate the stellar academic achievements of the undergraduate students that form the UWG Honors College.

The event, which was organized by a 15-member Honors College Committee made up of various UWG faculty, staff, and students, began with a processional of UWG faculty, in full academic regalia, and the student honorees. UWG President Dr. Kyle Marrero welcomed attendees to the event, giving a brief background of the Honors Convocation and Honors College and commending the educational excellence of the students being recognized.

Following Dr. Marrero’s welcome address, guests were treated to several music presentations by members of the UWG music department. These included a rendition of Polish composer Józef Świder’s “Cantus Gloriosus” by the UWG Chamber Singers, as well as a charming performance of “O Happy the Lily” from English composing duo, Gilbert and Sullivan’s comic opera “Ruddigore” by the UWG Opera Workshop.

The award presentation segment of the event began with presentation of the Dr. Donald R. Wagner Honors Faculty of the Year Award. Jovan Johnson, the president of the Student Honors Council, and Alexandria Gunther, a sophomore recipient of the Outstanding Honors College award, presented the award to the 2015 recipient – Dr. Michael Hester, the dean of the Honors College and Trans-Disciplinary Programs. They highlighted his dedication, dynamism, and wit as some of the reasons he was bestowed with the honor.

Various academic awards were presented to students from every college and degree program. Dr. Marrero read a brief summary of each student’s future plans and goals, while Dr. Micheal Crafton, UWG provost and vice president for academic affairs, and Johnson presented the honorees with their awards. Several University Awards were also given to deserving students.

Following the award presentations, attendees celebrated, mingled, and enjoyed refreshments in the entrance lobby of the Townsend Center.

The UWG Honors College is the first of its kind in the state of Georgia. It started out as the Honors Program in the spring 1975 semester and was elevated to its current status by the Board of Regents in June 1999. The Honors College seeks to provide intellectually gifted students with an educational experience commensurate with their abilities.

Full List of Student Awardees

The James Emory Boyd Awards – College of Science and Mathematics
Amaan Mehdi Kazerouni- Chemistry
Troy Mosac- Geology
Michael Raymond Carr- Computer Science
Jennifer Lynne Holland- Computer Science
Adam Trey Pullen- Physics
Jared Thacker- Physics

The Outstanding Senior in Biology Faculty Award
Tai Le Duy Truong

The American Institute of Chemists Award
Nicki Lynne Hogan

The Tom Herndon Awards – College of Social Sciences
Ryan Gibbs- Geography
Alyssa Hyatt- Criminology
Haylee Lauren Magnicheri- Sociology
Drew Everett Barker- Economics
Kaitlin Nicole Costley- History
Adam Sunstrom- Political Science
Elizabeth Watson- Psychology

The Carole E. Hill Award in Anthropology
Sarah Elizabeth Jones

The Waring Distinguished Scholar Award
Sarah Elizabeth Jones- Anthropology

The Gordon Watson Awards – College of Arts & Humanities
Laura Booth- Art
Sarah Deane Robertson- English
Jessica Holloman- Philosophy
Victoria Diane Williams- Foreign Language (French)
Jared Brown- Foreign Language (German)
Brooklyn Aaron- Foreign Language (Spanish)
Amber Nicole Dees- Mass Communications
Nicholas John Suwalski- Theatre Arts
Amber Denise Harling- Music

Nursing Award of Excellence – Tanner Health System School of Nursing
Kaylan Schlick
Roberto Antonio Ochoa

Frank R. Hunsicker Award in Management – Richards College of Business
Heather Shaw

Richards College of Business Awards in Academic Excellence
Sherry McLain- Accounting
Alexander Mackenzie Macaulay- Finance
Kristin Blair Fox- Marketing
Safiya Wright- Management Information Systems
Joshua Alan Jacob- Real Estate

Outstanding Student Awards – College of Education
Rosanna Sutherland-Johnson- Communications Sciences and Disorders
Brandi Walker- Early Childhood Education
Kellie Marie Patterson- Secondary Education
Stephen Magwood- Physical Education
Whitney MacMillan Maples- Sport Management

Exemplary Leadership in Sport Management- College of Education
Andrew Ray Phillips

W. Malcolm Flanagan Award- College of Education
Maegan LaChrista Williams

Health and Physical Education Excellence in Teaching- College of Education
Kristen Clonts

Mrs. Jewell Miles Burson Calculus Award
Michael Brant Bowen

Marion Crider Awards
Benjamin Thomas Martin
Elizabeth Toluba McCrina
Alexis Danielle Wagner

Outstanding Women’s Studies Award
Elizabeth Watson

Outstanding Honors College Students
Jessica Boatner- Freshman
Paula Martinez-Feduchi- Freshman
Christine Elisse Perez- Freshman
Marshala Cofer- Sophomore
Asia Culler- Sophomore
Trisha Dalapati- Sophomore
Alexandra Gunther Sophomore
Jovan Johnson- Junior
V. Michelle Michael- Junior
Danielle Street- Junior
Taylor Boltz- Senior
Katherine Smith- Senior
Tai Le Duy Truong- Senior

John J. Pershing Award for Scholarship
Anna Kathryn Beam
Kaitlin Nicole Costley
Nicki Lynne Hogan
Haylee Lauren Magnicheri

Dr. Sethna Undergraduate Research Award
Osayame Gaius-Obaseki

Academic Recognition Day Scholar
Osayame Gaius-Obaseki

Posted on April 10, 2015