What is Quality Matters?

Quality Matters is a nationally recognized, faculty-centered, peer review process created to promote the quality of online/hybrid course design and online components. QM has developed a prescribed sequence of workshops proposed to prepare instructors for becoming peer reviewers of online/hybrid courses that have been submitted for review.

Fauclty who participate in the UWG Online QM Training Program complete a 3-course recommended sequence - DYOC, APPQMR, and PRC - in which after the successful completion, instructors are internally recognized as UWG Online Certified Course Developer and can also go on to become nationally recognized QM Peer Reviewers.

Course Descriptions

1. DYOC (Designing Your Online Course)
The "Designing Your Online Course" (formerly Build Your Online Course) workshop includes an overview of the QM Rubric and provides a framework to design an online course plan. Participants explore all eight key standards of the QM Rubric, focusing on learning objectives and overall course alignment. There are no prerequisite requirements.

2. APPQMR (Applying the Quality Matters Rubric)
The Applying the QM Rubric (APPQMR) workshop is QM's flagship workshop on the QM Rubric and the process of using the QM Rubric to review online courses. It is intended for a broad audience, including but not limited to faculty, instructional designers, administrators, and adjunct instructors who wish to understand more about the QM Rubric and process of course review. There are no prerequisite requirements.

The APPQMR is the pre-requisite for the Peer Reviewer Course (listed below), which is the required course to become a QM Peer Reviewer.

3. The Quality Matters Peer Reviewer Course
The Peer Reviewer Course is designed to prepare experienced online faculty to become Quality Matters Certified Peer Reviewers. The Peer Reviewer Course includes a review of Quality Matters, practice critiquing and writing helpful recommendations, and a Practice Review in which the participants are asked to review specific standards in an online course using a simulated online rubric tool.



2016 QM Instructors

The following faculty denoted by the asterisk (*) are Nationally Recognized QM Peer Reviewers. For more information about Quality Matters and professional development opportunities, please visit the UWG Online QM Training Program.

College/School/Unit Name Email Year
College of Science and Mathematics - Biology Henry Zot hzot@westga.edu FY16
College of Science and Mathematics - Biology Anita Zot azot@westga.edu FY16
College of Arts and Humanities - History Jennifer Egas jegas@westga.edu FY16
College of Science and Mathematics - Biology Melissa Johnson mcavalli@westga.edu FY16
College of Arts and Humanities - History Julia Brock jbrock@westga.edu FY16
College of Education - Clinical and Professional Studies Lacey Ricks lricks@westga.edu FY16
College of Education - Educational Technology and Foundations Yun-Jo An yan@westga.edu FY16
Library Anne Barnhart barnhart@westga.edu FY16
College of Social Sciences - Criminology Anthony Vito avito@westga.edu FY16
College of Education - Clinical and Professional Studies Christy Land cland@westga.edu FY16
Tanner School of Nursing Dale Howard dhoward@westga.edu FY16
Distance & Distributed Education - UWG|Online Nakita Hogans nhogans@westga.edu FY16
Tanner School of Nursing Melissa Downs mdowns@westga.edu FY16
College of Arts & Humanities - History Molly McCullers mmculle@westga.edu FY16
College of Social Sciences - Political Science Kathleen Barrett ​kbarrett@westga.edu FY16
College of Science and Mathematics - Geosciences Christopher Berg cberg@westga.edu FY16

2015 QM Instructors

The following faculty denoted by the asterisk (*) are Nationally Recognized QM Peer Reviewers. For more information about Quality Matters/5-Star training, see UWG|Online's faculty training page.

College/School/Unit Name Email Year
College of Science and Mathematics - Chemistry Farooq Khan* fkhan@westga.edu FY15
​College of Social Sciences - Sociology Viviene Wood​* vwood@westga.edu FY15
Tanner School of Nursing Joan Carlisle​ jcarlisl@westga.edu FY15
College of Education - Learning and Teaching Donna Harkins dharkins@westga.edu FY15
College of Social Sciences - Political Science Sheikh Drammeh* sdrammeh@westga.edu FY15
College of Social Sciences - Mass Communication Bradford Yates byates@westga.edu FY15
Tanner School of Nursing Sharon Cumbie scumbie@westga.edu FY15
College of Arts and Humanities - Music Josh Byrd* jbyrd@westga.edu FY15
College of Education - Learning and Teaching Elaine Roberts* eroberts@westga.edu FY15
College of Science and Mathematics - Computer Science Li Yang lyang@westga.edu FY15
Richards College of Business - Management Susana Velez-Castrillon svelez@westga.edu FY15
Richards College of Business - Economics Mary Kassis mkassis@westga.edu FY15
College of Science and Mathematics - Geosciences Jeong Seong jseong@westga.edu FY15
Tanner School of Nursing Christy Berding cberding@westga.edu FY15
Tanner School of Nursing Linda Mason Barber* lbarber@westga.edu FY15
College of Arts and Humanities - Art Rita Tekippe rtekippe@westga.edu FY15
College of Education - Clinical & Professional Studies Susan Boes sboes@westga.edu FY15
College of Arts & Humanities - History Nadejda Popov npopov@westga.edu FY15
College of Arts & Humanities - English & Philosophy Meg Pearson* megp@westga.edu FY15
Richards College of Business - Economics Kim Holder kholder@westga.edu FY15
Richards College of Business - Accounting & Finance Rong Guo* rguo@westga.edu FY15
College of Arts & Humanities - History Colleen Vasconcellos cvasconc@westga.edu FY15
College of Arts & Humanities - English & Philosophy Laura Miller lmiller@westga.edu FY15
Richards College of Business - Management Mariana Sanchez msanchez@westga.edu FY15
College of Education - Educational Technology & Foundations Danilo Baylen dbaylen@westga.edu FY15
College of Science & Mathematics - Chemistry John Hansen jhansen@westga.edu FY15
Richards College of Business - Management Philip Reaves preaves@westga.edu FY15
College of Education - Learning & Teaching Frank Stonier* fstonier@westga.edu FY15
Richards College of Business - Accounting & Finance Linxiao Liu lliu@westga.edu FY15
Richards College of Business - Economics Hilde Patron Boenheim hpatron@westga.edu FY15
College of Arts & Humanities - Music Emily Hunt* ehunt@westga.edu FY15
College of Arts & Humanities - History Keith Pacholl kpacholl@westga.edu FY15
College of Education - Clinical & Professional Studies Caroline Perjessy cperjess@westga.edu FY15
College of Education - Clinical & Professional Studies Debra Cobia   FY15
College of Education - Clinical & Professional Studies Mark Parrish mparrish@westga.edu FY15
Academic Affairs Cher Hendricks cher@westga.edu FY15
College of Social Sciences - Criminology Mai Naito* mnaito@westga.edu FY15
College of Social Sciences - Criminology Erika Wentz   FY15
College of Social Sciences - Political Science Heather Mbaye* hmbaye@westga.edu FY15
Distance & Distributed Education - eCore Ashleigh Paulk   FY15
College of Education - Learning & Teaching Tamra Ogletree togletre@westga.edu FY15
College of Education - Leadership & Instruction Jennifer Edelman jedelman@westga.edu FY15
Richards College of Business - Management Samantha Dukes sdukes@westga.edu FY15
College of Education - ​Learning & Teaching Kimberly Griffith   FY15
Tanner School of Nursing Lisa Robinson lisar@westga.edu FY15
Richards College of Business Kimberly Green kgreen@westga.edu FY15
College of Science and Mathematics Douglas Stuart* dstuart@westga.edu FY15
College of Education - Educational Technology & Foundations Crill Head chead@westga.edu FY15
College of Education - Educational Technology & Foundations Dawn Putney dputney@westga.edu FY15
Richards College of Business Ron Best rbest@westga.edu FY15
College of Education - Leadership & Instruction Christie Johnson cjohnson@westga.edu FY15
College of Education - Educational Technology & Foundations Yan Yang* yyang@westga.edu FY15
College of Education - Learning & Teaching Jill Drake* jdrake@westga.edu FY15
Richards College of Business - Management Joan Deng jdeng@westga.edu FY15
College of Education - Learning & Teaching Jessica Bucholz jbucholz@westga.edu FY15
College of Education - Learning & Teaching Sandra Robbins srobbins@westga.edu FY15
College of Education - Educational Technology & Foundations Kim Huett khuett@westga.edu FY15
College of Arts & Humanities - Music Elizabeth Kramer ekramer@westga.edu FY15
College of Education - Learning & Teaching Nickey Johnson njohnson@westga.edu FY15
College of Social Sciences - Criminology Gavin Lee gavinl@westga.edu FY15
College of Social Sciences - Criminology Lynn Pazzani lpazzani@westga.edu FY15
College of Arts & Humanities - English & Philosophy Stacey Morin scarter@westga.edu FY15
Library Andrea Stanfield* astanfie@westga.edu FY15
College of Science and Mathematics Satyanarayana Swamy-Mruthinti* smruthin@westga.edu FY15

2014 QM Instructors

The following faculty denoted by the asterisk (*) are Nationally Recognized QM Peer Reviewers. For more information about Quality Matters/5-Star training, see UWG|Online's faculty training page.

College/School/Unit Name Email Year
College of Education - Educational Technology & Foundations George Bradford   FY14
College of Social Sciences - Criminology Patricia Riley* priley@westga.edu FY14
College of Science and Mathematics - Chemistry Timothy Ayers*   FY14
College of Social Sciences - Political Science & Planning Gregory Dixon* gdixon@westga.edu FY14
College of Education - Educational Technology & Foundations Linda Haynes lhaynes@westga.edu FY14
College of Education - School Improvement Lara Willox* lwillox@westga.edu FY14
Richards College of Business - Management Brad Prince bprince@westga.edu FY14
College of Education - Educational Technology & Foundations Adriana D'Alba* adalba@westga.edu FY14
Richards College of Business - Marketing & Real Estate Cheryl Brown cbrown@westga.edu FY14
College of Social Sciences - Criminology Christopher Bounds* cbounds@westga.edu FY14
Tanner School of Nursing Michelle Byrne mbyrne@westga.edu FY14
College of Social Sciences - Criminology Elizabeth Stupi* estupi@westga.edu FY14
College of Education - Educational Technology & Foundations Mary Alice Varga* mvarga@westga.edu FY14
Tanner School of Nursing Rita Mahmoud rmahoud@westga.edu FY14
College of Education - Educational Technology & Foundations Barbara Kawulich bkawulic@westga.edu FY14
Tanner School of Nursing Ashley Helvig   F14
College of Education - Educational Technology & Foundations Mary Beth Slone mbslone@westga.edu FY14
College of Education - Educational Technology & Foundations Phyllis Snipes psnipes@westga.edu FY14
College of Education - Educational Technology & Foundations Frances Chumney fchumney@westga.edu FY14
College of Education - Leadership & Instruction Judy Butler jbutler@westga.edu FY14
College of Social Sciences - Criminology Kelley Christopher kchristo@westga.edu FY14
College of Education - Clinical & Professional Studies Julia Whisenhunt jwhisenh@westga.edu FY14
College of Arts & Humanities - Music Dawn McCord* dmccord@westga.edu FY14
College of Social Sciences - Criminology Vanessa Woodward vwoodwar@westga.edu FY14
Tanner School of Nursing Mary Bishop mbishop@westga.edu FY14
Tanner School of Nursing Cynthia Brown cynthiab@westga.edu FY14
Tanner School of Nursing Susan Welch* swelch@westga.edu FY14
College of Social Sciences - Sociology Tiffany Parsons tparsons@westga.edu FY14
Distance & Distributed Education - UWG|Online Wendy Grisham* wgrisham@westga.edu FY14
College of Education - Leadership & Instruction Glaucio Scremin gscremin@westga.edu FY14
College of Education - Educational Technology & Foundations Abbot Packard apackard@westga.edu FY14
Distance & Distributed Education - UWG|Online Jessica Loiacono jloiacon@westga.edu FY14
College of Science & Mathematics Anne Gaquere* agaquere@westga.edu FY14