While state funding provides financial support for the university, charitable giving funds many scholarships and improvements to our academic programs. The UWG Foundation was created in 1967 for the express purpose of raising, administering, investing and transferring private gifts for the University of West Georgia. The foundation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization. It receives all gifts into the university and distributes them as per the donor’s instructions. It also determines the distribution of annual funds dollars.

The mission of the University of West Georgia Foundation, Inc. is to support the University of West Georgia in its mission to provide excellent higher education to its constituencies. It does so by attracting and involving leaders from among the University’s alumni and friends in this endeavor. The Foundation’s primary efforts are directed toward attracting, receiving, investing, managing and expending gifts and other resources designated for the educational programs, research projects and community service efforts of the University as identified in the strategic planning process.

A gift to the UWG Foundation provides much-needed scholarships for our students, helps us to recruit and retain well-qualified faculty and staff, expands student research and travel opportunities, provides cutting-edge technology, and improves our campus life and facilities. Thank you for making a difference in the lives of today’s and tomorrow’s students.

Foundation Board of Trustees

Executive Committee

  • Chair
    Ms. Ann Newman ‘01
    Vice President, Wells Fargo - West Georgia Region
  • Vice Chair
    Mr. Gary Kinard '91
    CFO, Southeastrans, Inc.
  • Treasurer/Investment Committee Chair
    ​​Mr. David R. Edwards​
    Executive Vice President and Director of Strategic Projects, United Bank
  • Secretary
    Mr. Tim Martin '08
    CEO, Carroll EMC
  • Past Chair
    Mr. Luis A. Planas, Sr. ‘72
    Retired, The Coca-Cola Company
  • Audit Committee Chair
    Dr. Jason Thogmartin '06 '07
    Executive Vice President, Santander US
  • Board Development Committee Chair
    Ms. Vicki Kaiser
    Executive Director of Oncology, Piedmont Newnan
  • Resource Development Committee Chair
    Ms. Christa Pitts '97
    Owner/Co-CEO, The Lumistella Company


  • Bruce Bobick
    Retired, Professor & Chairman of the UWG Art Department
  • Ms. Tonya Jackson Byrd
    Business Development Manager, Ra-Lin & Associates
  • Mr. Josh Chapman
    Ra-Lin & Associates
  • Mr. David B. Dennis '79
  • Mr. Brian Dill
    Vice President, External Affairs, Tanner Health System & Executive Director, Tanner Foundation
  • Dr. Richard "Dick" M. Ingle '67
    Retired, Georgia Technology Research Institution
  • Mr. Gerald Kemp '87
    Senior Vice President, Fidelity Bank, Newnan Branch
  • Mrs. Amanda T. Lucey '06
    CEO, The Partnership of Atlanta, Inc.
  • Mr. Dennis McEntire
    General Manager, Newnan Utilities
  • Mr. John Paulk III '00
    Safehold Special Risk
  • Mr. L. Richard Plunkett
    President, Plunkett & Associates
  • Mrs. Shaunya Chavis Rucker '88
    News Director & Anchor, Fulton Government TV
  • Mrs. Honey H. Shackelford '76
    Homemaker & Community Volunteer
  • Mr. Zachary R. Steed '89
    Client Executive, Conduent
  • Mr. Michael Stone
    Milestone Investment Management, LLC
  • Mr. P. Stephenson Swope Jr.
    Retired CEO, Rubicon
  • Mr. R. David Ware '76
    Hall Booth Smith, P.C.

Ex Officio Members

  • Dr. Brendan Kelly
    President, University of West Georgia
  • Dr. Meredith N. Brunen
    Vice President for University Advancement & CEO of UWG Foundations, University of West Georgia
  • Mr. Brad Mock '12 '15
    Chair, UWG Alumni Association Board of Directors
  • Mrs. Rebecca Smith '96
    Chair, UWG Athletic Foundation Board of Directors

Life Members

  • Mr. A. Paul Cadenhead ’44
    Retired Attorney, Fellows, Johnson & LaBriola
  • Mr. James "Jim" Gill
    Retired, CB&T
  • Mr. Phillip Kauffman
    President, Kauphi Properties
  • Mr. Robert “Bob” J. Stone
    President, Systems & Methods

Emeriti Members

  • Mr. Robert "Bob" W. Coggin
    President, Alpine Marketing Consultants 
  • Mr. K. Alexander "Alex" Roush
    President/Owner, Alex Roush Architect
  • Mr. J. Thomas Vance
    Partner, Tisinger Vance, P.C.

Honorary Member

  • Dr. Beheruz N. Sethna
    Professor of Marketing & President Emeritus, University of West Georgia

Foundation Documents

Foundation Documents

Visit our Work West page, linked below, to access UWG Foundation forms such as EFT Authorization and New Project Account Request. Note; you will have to sign on with your UWG ID and password to access the page.

UWG Foundation Forms

If you need to access UWG Foundation forms but do not have a UWG ID, please contact Stephanie Fant at sfant@westga.edu or (678) 839-4106.